Synthesia pricing
On our reading, Synthesia’s cheapest plan for paid social ads is Starter, at $29 a month on . It drops to $18 a month billed yearly, and the pricing page disagrees with itself on whether monthly billing qualifies (official pricing page). On monthly Starter at $29 a month, a 30-second ad costs $1.45 if every minute is used.
| Plan | Monthly price (USD) | Cost per 30-second video (USD) | Paid ads | Billed yearly, per month (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free | Not computed | Barred | Free |
| Starter | $29 | $1.45 | Allowed with conditions | $18 |
| Creator | $89 | $1.48 | Allowed with conditions | $64 |
| Enterprise | Not published | Not computed: no price | Allowed with conditions | Not published |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
What you get on each plan, and notes
- Basic
- What you get: 1,200 credits a month (up to 10 minutes of video), 9 AI avatars, no personal avatars (they start on Starter)
- Notes: Downloads and logo removal are listed from Starter up, so a Basic video cannot be downloaded for an ad.
- Starter
- What you get: 1,200 credits a month = up to 10 minutes of video, 48 minutes of dubbing or 25 AI video assets; 1 editor and 3 guests; 125+ avatars; 3 personal avatars (comparison table)
- Notes: The FAQ on the same page still quotes 264 dollars a year, which conflicts with the 18 dollars a month yearly card (216 a year). Personal avatars conflict three ways: the comparison table lists 3, the Starter card itself lists none, and the FAQ says one personal avatar comes with the annual Starter and Creator plans. Yearly: 14,500 credits a year,
Usable for up to 120 mins of video or 580 mins of AI Dubbing
; the page does not say whether they arrive as one pool or month by month. - Creator
- What you get: 3,600 credits a month = up to 30 minutes of video; 5 personal avatars; API access; 180+ avatars; 1 editor and 5 guests
- Notes: The FAQ quotes 804 dollars a year, which conflicts with the 64 dollars a month card. Yearly: 44,000 credits a year,
Usable for up to 360 mins of video or 1760 mins of AI Dubbing
. API use givesUp to 360 minutes of video / year, deducted from the plan’s usage limits
. - Enterprise
- What you get: Unlimited video minutes, 240+ stock avatars, unlimited personal avatars, SSO
- Notes: Sales-led.
Source: synthesia.io/pricing
What one Synthesia ad costs
Method: $1.45 per video at list price on Starter at $29 a month, if every credit is used. Starter at monthly billing: 29 dollars for 10 minutes, metered by the second (the pricing page example: a 59-second video leaves 9:01). 29 / 600 seconds = 0.048 dollars a second, so 30 seconds = 1.45 dollars. Stock avatars are barred from paid social ads without Synthesia’s written consent, so an ad without that consent needs a personal avatar.
The comparison table gives Starter 3 personal avatars, but the Starter card lists none and the pricing FAQ ties a personal avatar to the annual plans. If monthly Starter has none, the cheapest monthly card that lists one is Creator: 89 / 1,800 seconds x 30 = 1.48 dollars per 30-second ad, though the FAQ ties that avatar to annual Creator too.
At list price, a 30-second Synthesia ad ranges from $0.90 on yearly Starter to $1.48 on monthly Creator, if every minute is used (pricing page).
| Plan and billing | 30-second ad | Bill | Video included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter, monthly | $1.45 | $29 | 10 minutes a month |
| Starter, yearly by the card | $0.90 | $216 | 120 minutes a year |
| Starter, yearly by the FAQ | $1.10 | $264 | 120 minutes a year |
| Creator, monthly | $1.48 | $89 | 30 minutes a month |
| Creator, yearly by the card | $1.07 | $768 | 360 minutes a year |
| Creator, yearly by the FAQ | $1.12 | $804 | 360 minutes a year |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
We could not tell whether Synthesia’s checkout charges the card’s yearly total or the FAQ’s, which is $48 higher on Starter and $36 on Creator.
Synthesia charges an edit for its new seconds only: change 3 seconds of a 1-minute video and “we will only charge you for 3 seconds”, its FAQ says. So a new 5-second hook on a finished ad uses 5 of monthly Starter’s 600 seconds, worth $0.24 at list price (pricing page).
Not yet known: how many renders a usable 30-second Synthesia ad takes. Only a bench test can show that, and none has run on Synthesia.
Which plan allows paid social ads?
On our reading, any Synthesia paid plan that includes a personal avatar. Synthesia’s Acceptable Use Policy bars stock avatars from paid social ads without its written consent. Without that consent, an ad needs a personal avatar (on our reading, the policy’s custom avatar) of someone who agreed. Basic includes no personal avatar.
The policy, last updated 23 February 2024, lists this under “Categories of Prohibitions”, in “Campaigns, Communications & Abuse of the Public Interest”:
Incorporating a Stock Avatar in content for “promoted”, “boosted”, or “paid” advertising on any social media platform or similar media, absent written express consent from Synthesia
For a custom avatar, the same clause goes on, “you may do so only with appropriate consent from the individual.” The pricing page calls a personal avatar “your own custom AI avatar (your digital twin)”, so we read it as a custom avatar.
A testimonial-style ad narrows the stock route further. The policy’s “Synthesia Content & Abuse of Third Party Rights” section bars “Using a Stock Avatar in a manner that is meant to, or is reasonably likely to, make viewers think the real-life actor personally holds, endorses, or actually has your stated opinions, characteristics or conditions”.
The same clause sets two exceptions: “in the case of Stock Avatars, you may do so only on enterprise Service plans and in the case of a Custom Avatar, you may do so only with appropriate consent from the individual.”
On our reading, no plan lifts the paid-ad bar by itself. A stock avatar in a paid ad needs Synthesia’s written consent on any plan, Enterprise included, and can vouch for your product only on Enterprise.
Synthesia’s help centre (updated 22 July 2026) goes further: stock avatars “Cannot Be Used to Represent Specific Individuals or Brands”. It suggests a personal or Studio avatar for “expert, branded, or opinion-based content” (help article). A Studio avatar is a paid add-on, for yearly plans only.
On our reading, a stock avatar ad that names your brand risks rejection on any plan.
Some ads are out on every Synthesia plan, on our reading. The policy’s “Adult Content & Abuse of Minors” section bars “Using the Services to promote or advertise age restricted goods, services or venues, including alcohol, tobacco, vaping products, psychoactive substances, firearms, gambling, sex toys, escort services and dating services”, and names no plan or consent that lifts it.
Synthesia’s help centre (updated 22 July 2026) says “Age-restricted content, including internal sales, packaging, distribution, logistics, education, or liability content, is treated as restricted content and requires a Personal or Studio avatar” (help article). Its examples are internal, so on our reading the policy’s bar on promoting those goods still covers ads.
Does monthly Starter include a personal avatar?
Unclear: three parts of Synthesia’s pricing page disagree. The FAQ says “One custom personal avatar is included with the annual Starter and Creator plans.”
| Plan | FAQ | Plan card | Compare plans table |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Not stated | None | None |
| Starter, monthly | Not stated | None | 3 |
| Starter, yearly | 1 | None | 3 |
| Creator, monthly | Not stated | “5 Personal Avatars” | 5 |
| Creator, yearly | 1 | “5 Personal Avatars” | 5 |
| Enterprise | Unlimited | “Unlimited Personal Avatars” | Unlimited |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Synthesia’s help article on personal avatars (updated 22 July 2026) lists “Starter: 3 free avatars” and “Creator: 5 free avatars” under “Avatar Allowances by Plan”, with no billing period named (personal avatar article).
We do not read the Starter card’s “Custom on-brand Avatars” line as a personal avatar: Creator’s card, headed “What you get in starter +”, lists both lines separately.
If monthly Starter has none, ads start at yearly Starter. That is $216 a year by its card or $264 by the FAQ, paid in advance and, outside two cases in the Customer Terms, “non-refundable” (what cancelling refunds). Confirm with Synthesia before buying a monthly or yearly plan for ads.
Is Synthesia free, and is there a free trial?
Yes: Synthesia Basic is free with no card but cannot download an ad, and only yearly cards offer a trial. Downloads and logo removal start on Starter. Basic’s 1,200 credits a month make up to 10 minutes of video, with “9 AI avatars” and no personal avatar (pricing page).
The yearly Starter and Creator cards carry a “Try for FREE” button. The pricing page does not say how long that trial lasts or what it bills at the end.
Costs the plan card leaves out
- Unused Synthesia minutes lapse: they “do not roll over to the next billing period”, the FAQ says, and past the limit “your usage will be capped until renewal” unless you upgrade.
- A second Synthesia editor means Enterprise, the only plan listing “Custom # of editors & guests”. The others list 1 editor (Starter adds 3 guests, Creator 5).
- Dubbing draws on the same credits as video: Starter’s 1,200 credits a month make 10 minutes of video or 48 of dubbing, and lip sync “Uses 2× credits when enabled”.
- Customised avatar scenes cost 96 credits per b-roll asset with action: $2.32 of monthly Starter’s allowance, more than a whole 30-second ad at $1.45 (pricing page).
- A Studio Express-1 avatar is a paid add-on at $1,000 a year, the compare plans table says (checked ). It is “for annual plan users only” and “can take up to 10 days to process”. Annual plan users can buy more personal avatars at $240 a year ex-VAT through Support (personal avatar article).
- None of the pages we read lists a separate API price. API access starts on Creator, where the compare plans table gives “Up to 360 minutes of video / year, deducted from the plan’s usage limits”. Enterprise includes 360 minutes a year, with more “available as a paid add-on”.
Cancelling and refunds
Synthesia’s pricing FAQ answers “Can I cancel Synthesia at any time?” with “Yes. Simply go to your account settings in Synthesia and cancel your plan.” The Customer Terms (effective 20 July 2026) cover money already paid: “Payment obligations are non-cancelable and, except as expressly stated in the Contract, fees paid are non-refundable” (Payment Terms).
On our reading, cancelling a yearly Synthesia plan refunds none of the year paid: $216 to $264 on yearly Starter. Synthesia’s refund article (updated 17 July 2026) says the same of a plan that renewed before it was cancelled: purchases are “non-cancelable and non-refundable, even if the subscription wasn’t used” (refund article).
The terms name two cases that refund “any prepaid fees covering the remainder of the term”, both when you end the contract. In one, Synthesia materially breached it and did not cure the breach within 30 days of your notice (Termination for Cause, Effect of Termination). In the other, Synthesia assigned it in breach of the Assignment section.
“Unless an Order Form says something different”, the terms renew every plan “for additional periods equal to one (1) year or the preceding term, whichever is shorter”, with per-unit pricing “the same as it was during the immediately prior term” (Auto-Renewal).
Under the terms, either side can stop a renewal with notice “at least thirty (30) days before the end of a subscription term” (Auto-Renewal). Synthesia’s help centre (updated 10 September 2026) says “To stop a renewal, cancel from Billing before your renewal date” (billing article). Neither page says how the two fit.
If a cancellation inside the last 30 days does not stop the renewal, that is another year billed.
Ending a Synthesia plan ends access to your videos. Once the billing period ends, “you lose access to Synthesia and all videos in your account”, the billing article says, so export finished ads first. The terms add that “Avatars cannot be exported” (Data Portability and Deletion).
Price history
No change recorded for Synthesia since the database’s first check. Synthesia’s prices were last read on .
The pricing page’s “New lower prices” banner does not show what the earlier prices were.
Work out your own cost
For any Synthesia ad length, divide the plan’s bill by its seconds and multiply by the length. A 15-second hook on monthly Starter at $29 a month comes to $0.73, if every minute is used (pricing page).
Monthly Starter’s 10 minutes make 40 hooks of 15 seconds or 20 ads of 30 seconds, before any re-render. Creator’s 30 minutes make three times as many. The cost per AI ad calculator opens on a 15-second Starter hook and runs the sum with your own volume.
Where to compare Synthesia’s cost
The Synthesia profile covers its terms beyond price, and its row in the price tracker sits beside other tools’ list prices. HeyGen pricing, Creatify pricing and the AI UGC cost guide work out the same 30-second cost for other tools.
HeyGen vs Synthesia for ads prices a 30-second ad on Synthesia Starter against HeyGen Creator, avatar model by model.
Sources
- Synthesia: Synthesia pricing, plan cards (monthly and yearly), the compare plans table and its Studio Avatars tooltip, the FAQ; first read on 23 September 2026, re-read on 24 September 2026. Checked
- Synthesia: Acceptable Use Policy, stock avatars in promoted, boosted or paid social advertising, stock avatars that endorse (enterprise plans only), the custom avatar condition and the age-restricted goods ban; last updated 23 February 2024. Checked
- Synthesia: Why can’t I use stock avatars for my content?, stock avatars, brands and endorsements, the personal or Studio avatar alternative and the age-restricted content answer; updated 22 July 2026. Checked
- Synthesia: How do I create my personal avatar from a video?, the
Avatar Allowances by Plan
list (3 on Starter, 5 on Creator, no billing period named) and the add-on price for more personal avatars (annual plan users, through Support); updated 22 July 2026. Checked - Synthesia: How do I manage my Synthesia plan and billing?, stopping a renewal, access and videos after cancelling, switching to annual billing; updated 10 September 2026, also served at the older cancellation article address 9414530. Checked
- Synthesia: What is Synthesia’s refund and billing policy?, no refund after a renewal,
even if the subscription wasn’t used
; updated 17 July 2026. Checked - Synthesia: Customer Terms of Service, Payment Terms (fees in advance,
non-cancelable
, non-refundable), Auto-Renewal (30-day notice, renewal pricing), Effect of Termination and Assignment (the two refund cases), Data Portability and Deletion (avatars); effective 20 July 2026. Checked
What changed on this page
- Added the yearly add-on prices for a Studio Express-1 avatar and for more personal avatars, Basic’s monthly allowance and how many ads Starter and Creator minutes make. Cancelling and refunds now has its own heading.
- Added Synthesia’s help centre on cancelling, refunds, switching to yearly billing, personal avatars by plan and age-restricted content, each with its date.
- Added the Customer Terms Payment Terms clause and its two refund cases beside the pricing FAQ’s cancellation answer.
- Written. Plan prices first read on 23 September 2026 and re-read on the live pricing page on 24 September 2026 with no change.