Cold email software: AI tools by price, mailboxes, warm-up and leads
Verdict on AI cold email tools
Instantly or Smartlead for many mailboxes on one bill; Apollo when you still need the leads (read ). At 50,000 contacts, Smartlead’s Unlimited Smart costs less than half of Instantly’s Light Speed. Cancellation and billing disputes lead the complaints on both (7 of 17 reviews on Instantly, 5 of 20 on Smartlead).
For sending from dozens of mailboxes on one flat plan: Instantly
Every Outreach plan includes unlimited email accounts and warm-up; Growth caps uploaded contacts at 1,000.
For agencies that store 30,000 contacts or more: Smartlead
Pro stores 30,000 contacts and Unlimited Smart has no contact cap, both with unlimited mailboxes.
For email, LinkedIn and calls in one sequence: lemlist
Multichannel is priced per user, with 5 senders each and unlimited emails and messages.
For finding the leads and emailing them from one seat: Apollo.io
Every plan includes Apollo’s contact database and sequences; credits cover lookups, warm-up and mailboxes.
| Tool | Monthly from (USD) | Free plan | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apollo.io | $65 | Yes | B2B contact database with email sequences, billed per seat with a monthly credit pool for email and phone lookups. |
| Instantly | $47 | No | Cold email sender with unlimited mailboxes and warm-up, billed by uploaded contacts and monthly emails. |
| lemlist | $69 | No | Multichannel outreach tool (email, LinkedIn, calls, SMS) billed per user, with unlimited contacts. |
| Smartlead | $39 | No | Cold email sender with unlimited mailboxes on every plan, priced by stored contacts and monthly sends. |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Prices checked 6 Nov 2026.
Cold email software sends sequences of one-to-one emails to prospects from several sending addresses, then stops when someone replies.
How each cold email tool bills
These four tools charge for different things, so a headline price compares badly. A mailbox is one sending address, such as sales@yourdomain.com. Cold senders spread volume across many of them so each address keeps a low daily send count. That is why “unlimited email accounts” matters more here than in newsletter software.
Instantly and Smartlead charge for contacts and sends and give mailboxes away. Apollo charges per seat, and lemlist’s Multichannel plan per user; lemlist’s Email plan is one flat price for unlimited users.
| Tool | Billed by | Sending mailboxes | Warm-up | Entry plan caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | Plan, by uploaded contacts and emails a month | Unlimited on every plan | Included on every Outreach plan | Growth: 1,000 contacts, 5,000 emails a month |
| Smartlead | Plan, by stored contacts and sends a month | Unlimited on every plan | A named warm-up tier per plan | Base: 2,000 contacts, 6,000 sends a month |
| lemlist | Plan or user | Email plan: unlimited senders; Multichannel: 5 per user | lemwarm included in all plans | Email: 50,000 emails a month, contacts uncapped |
| Apollo | Seat, with a monthly credit pool | Gmail only on Free; any provider on paid plans | Paid from credits, by plan | Basic: 2,500 credits a seat |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
What each tool costs at your list size
At 2,500 contacts, Apollo’s Basic seat and lemlist’s Email plan cost the least of the four; at 10,000, lemlist’s Email plan does. Apollo publishes no single price at 10,000.
Smartlead costs less than Instantly at every list size, and at 50,000 contacts it costs less than half. Apollo’s figure is per seat, so a three-person team pays it three times.
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | $47 Outreach: Growth | $107 Outreach: Hypergrowth | $107 Outreach: Hypergrowth | $358 Outreach: Light Speed | No free plan | instantly.ai/pricing | |
| Smartlead | $39 Base | $94 Pro | $94 Pro | $174 Unlimited Smart | No free plan | smartlead.ai/pricing | |
| lemlist | $69 Email | $69 Email | $69 Email | Not published Email | No free plan | lemlist.com/pricing | |
| Apollo.io | $65 Basic | $65 Basic | Not published Professional | Not published Organization | Free planFree: 75 credits a seat a month, 2 sequences, AI Assistant limited to 5 chats, Gmail only for sending, no time limit. | apollo.io/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
Contacts here means prospects uploaded or stored. lemlist leaves contacts uncapped and limits the Email plan to 50,000 emails a month. A three-step sequence to 50,000 people is about 150,000 emails, above the only volume tier the page shows. Apollo bills lookups in credits; past its seat’s pool, extra credits are bought on a slider that shows no monthly total.
The cold email tools, one by one
Instantly: flat plans with every mailbox included
Instantly’s Outreach Growth plan costs $47 a month with “Unlimited email accounts & warmup”, 1,000 uploaded contacts and 5,000 emails a month (Instantly pricing).
Hypergrowth, $107 a month, raises that to 25,000 contacts and 125,000 emails. Instantly pricing covers every plan.
Lead search and the AI agents sit on separate Credits plans, from $9 a month for 150 credits. Users report features sold separately, which lifts the bill above the headline plan (3 of 17 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Cancellation, refund and double-charge disputes are the largest complaint group (7 of 17: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
- Best for
- Teams running many mailboxes that want one flat sending price: Growth allows unlimited email accounts for 1,000 uploaded contacts and 5,000 emails a month.
- Skip it if
- you want lead search and AI agents in one price: both draw on a separate Instantly Credits plan billed on top of Outreach.
Smartlead: no contact cap from Unlimited Smart
Smartlead’s Base plan costs $39 a month for 2,000 stored contacts and 6,000 sends a month. Pro, $94 a month, stores 30,000 contacts, and Unlimited Smart, $174 a month, removes the contact cap. The pricing page says “All plans include unlimited email accounts at no extra cost.”
The card shows yearly prices; the monthly prices above are higher. Verified prospect emails cost $59 a month extra on Base and Pro. One r/coldemail thread comparing it with Instantly finds deliverability about equal once DNS, warm-up and lists are clean (r/coldemail). Others report burned mailboxes and warm-up pool problems (4 of 20: r/coldemail, r/coldemail).
- Best for
- Agencies and senders with many mailboxes and clients: every plan has unlimited email accounts, and Pro adds API, webhooks and paid client workspaces.
- Skip it if
- you expect to cancel within a few months: 5 of 20 user reports say cancelling only pauses the plan, and billing resumes.
lemlist: email and LinkedIn in one sequence
lemlist’s Email plan costs $69 a month for 50,000 emails a month, with unlimited users and senders (lemlist pricing).
The card shows yearly billing, with the monthly price struck through. Multichannel, $109 a month per user, adds LinkedIn and SMS automation and a dialer. Each Multichannel user gets 5 senders and unlimited emails and messages. lemlist pricing sets out both plans.
The FAQ says “lemwarm and built-in deliverability protections are included in all plans.” Lead data is a separate add-on, $20 a month for 2,000 credits. Fast, thorough support is the most frequent theme in lemlist’s reviews (13 of its 20 latest Trustpilot reviews: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
- Best for
- Small teams that mix email with LinkedIn and calls in one sequence: the Multichannel plan has unlimited emails and messages, priced per user.
- Skip it if
- you send email only, at high volume: the pricing page shows one Email tier, 50,000 emails a month, and no price above it.
Apollo: the lead database and the sender on one seat
Apollo’s Basic seat costs $65 a month with 2,500 credits a month, pooled across the team. One credit is one lead lookup.
The card shows annual billing, so its seat price sits below the monthly one above. The pricing page says credits give access to “emails, phone numbers, email warmup, domains & mailboxes”, and Free sends from Gmail accounts only.
Users credit the large, easy-to-search contact database and the free tier (7 of 17 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Out-of-date contact data is a recurring complaint (3 of 17: Trustpilot, r/coldemail).
- Best for
- Teams that want leads and sending in one tool: the 240M contact database and sequences come with every plan; Free gives 75 credits a seat.
- Skip it if
- you keep customer lists out of AI training: Apollo’s AI Policy says it may use Customer Data to train its internal models.
What an AI cold email generator does in these tools
An AI cold email generator writes the sequence from a short brief about your offer and the prospect. Smartlead and lemlist also sort replies by intent, and lemlist personalises lines from lead data. Each feature sits on a plan, or on credits. AI features in email tools lists them for every email platform.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | Email writing AI Sequence Writer | Outreach: Growth | Listed in the Growth feature highlights in pricing.md; no credit limit stated. | |
| Instantly | Email writing AI Email Writer Agent | Credits: Growth | Draws on 1,500 monthly Instantly credits; access to 5 LLMs or your own API key. | |
| Instantly | AI agent AI Sales Agent | Bundle: Starter | 5 credits per lead generated. | |
| Instantly | Reply handling AI Reply Agent | Bundle: Scale | 5 credits per reply generated; the Scale bundle card lists it. | |
| Instantly | Other Deliverability AI Agent | Outreach: Hypergrowth | Listed in the Hypergrowth feature highlights. | |
| Instantly | Other AI Spam Words Checker | Outreach: Growth | Listed in the Growth feature highlights. | |
| Smartlead | Subject lines AI Subject Line Generator | free tool | Listed among the site’s free tools, outside the paid plans. | |
| Smartlead | AI agent SmartAgents (7 agents, including Campaign Agent, Mailbox Agent and Advisory Agent) | Not stated | Lowest plan and any credit limit not stated on the pricing page or pricing.md; llms.txt describes the agents without a plan. | |
| Smartlead | Personalisation AI-driven personalisation in follow-up automation | Not stated | Described in llms.txt; plan not stated. | |
| Smartlead | Reply handling Unified Master Inbox intent categories | Not stated | Auto-categorises replies by intent per llms.txt; plan not stated. | |
| Smartlead | Other SmartAssistant | Not stated | Personal AI assistant that builds lists, creates campaigns and drafts sequences; plan not stated on the pages read. | |
| lemlist | Email writing AI Copilot and AI Sequence Builder | Not stated | Powered by Claude (Anthropic) per lemlist.com/ai-info; the plan is not readable because the comparison table’s ticks are not in the page text. | |
| lemlist | AI agent lemAgent | Listed on the Email plan card. | ||
| lemlist | Personalisation Smart Messaging (Messaging AI agents) | Listed on the Email plan card as Signal, Enrichment, & Messaging AI agents. Data runs on credits ($20 a month for 2,000). | ||
| lemlist | Reply handling AI reply intent detection, out-of-office detection and AI-generated replies | Not stated | Listed in the comparison table; per-plan ticks not readable. | |
| lemlist | Other AI Columns (OpenAI, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini) | Not stated | Runs models on lead attributes; plan not stated. | |
| Apollo.io | Email writing AI Assistant (drafts suggested email content) | Basic | Free plan allows 5 chats; unlimited-chat wording not stated for paid plans. | |
| Apollo.io | Predictions AI Lead Scoring | Professional | Free and Basic have a limit of 2 lead scores; Professional lists unlimited lead scoring. | |
| Apollo.io | AI agent Agentic workflows and MCP server | Not stated | The privacy policy describes AI agents and an MCP server; the plan is not stated on the pricing data. | |
| Apollo.io | Other AI Research | Free | Listed on the Free plan card; AI-researched data uses credits. | |
| Apollo.io | Other Call recordings with AI insights | Free | 150 minutes on Free and Basic, 4,000 on Professional, 8,000 on Organization. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Instantly lists the AI Sequence Writer and an AI spam words checker on Outreach Growth. Its AI Reply Agent spends 5 credits per reply generated. On the Email plan card, lemlist lists lemAgent and its messaging AI agents, and lemlist says its AI Copilot runs on Claude (lemlist AI).
Apollo’s AI Assistant drafts email content; Free allows 5 chats, and the paid plans state no chat cap. Smartlead describes seven SmartAgents, and its pricing page names no plan for them.
Does your cold email tool train AI on your prospects?
Apollo says yes. Its AI Policy says Apollo “may use Customer Data … as inputs to train these internal models” (Apollo AI Policy).
Instantly’s terms 4.3 say it is not responsible for third-party AI providers’ handling of your inputs, “including for use in their model training”. Smartlead’s clause 12 lets it use your data to “develop other services”.
lemlist’s article 12 limits its use of your data to providing the service. No lemlist clause names AI training. Does your email tool train AI? reads the same clauses across email platforms.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | The terms do not say | No clause says Instantly trains its own AI models on customer content. Clause 6.3(b) grants a perpetual, irrevocable licence over de-identified, aggregated data to improve and build service features, and clause 4.3 says Instantly is not responsible for third-party model providers’ handling of inputs and outputs including for use in their model training, so it gives no promise that they do not train. | Instantly is not responsible for the Third-Party Services' handling of your Inputs or Outputs, including for use in their model training.4.3 (Artificial Intelligence Tools); 6.3(b) (License to Subscriber Data) | Dated 23 Oct 2026 |
| Smartlead | The terms do not say | Nothing in the terms (19 May 2026), privacy policy (22 October 2026), DPA (18 September 2026) or Fair Use Policy mentions training AI models. Terms clause 12 licenses your data to supply and maintain the service, train staff and develop other services, and lets Smartlead keep aggregated, anonymised Analytics. For AI assistants connected through MCP the privacy policy says Smartlead does not store prompts or responses. | train our staff; and develop other services.Terms clause 12 (User Data); Privacy policy section 9 (Smartlead in AI assistants) | Dated 19 May 2026 |
| lemlist | The terms do not say | No clause in the terms (17 September 2025), privacy policy or AI page says lemlist trains models on customer content, or that it does not. Article 12 limits the permission over Your Data to providing the service; 7.5 grants a longer right over non-personal Data that is protected by an intellectual property right. The DPA is hosted as a PDF on docdro.id and was not read. | only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose).Terms article 12 (Your Data); article 7.5 | Dated 17 Sep 2025 |
| Apollo.io | Yes | Apollo says it may use Customer Data to train its own internal models (AI Policy, 10 August 2026; privacy policy 3.1, 10 August 2026), and the terms grant a perpetual licence to analyse Customer Data using AI after it is aggregated or de-identified. It says it will not share Customer Data with third parties to train their models and requires deletion from third-party AI platforms within 30 days. No opt-out for Customer Data was found. | Apollo may use Customer Data (as defined in Apollo’s Terms of Service) and its proprietary data as inputs to train these internal models to provide more accurate and relevant recommendations.AI Policy (internal models); Terms, Grant of License to Apollo (Perpetual License); Privacy Policy 3.1 | Dated 10 Aug 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
What US and EU law ask of every cold email
In the US, the CAN-SPAM Act covers business email too: “The law makes no exception for business-to-business email” (FTC). Every message needs your valid physical postal address and a clear way to opt out. You must honour an opt-out within 10 business days.
In the EU and UK, GDPR Article 21 lets anyone object to direct marketing at any time. Their data then stops being used for it (GDPR Article 21). So put a working unsubscribe line and your address in every sequence step.
In the UK, PECR also requires consent before a marketing email to an individual, sole traders included, while limited companies need none (ICO). Several EU countries set similar ePrivacy consent rules, so the rule depends on the country you send to.
Left out, and why
Reply.io, Woodpecker, Saleshandy, Hunter and Mailshake also sell cold email sending. They have no row in our email price data. Tools that replace Instantly are compared on the Instantly alternatives page.
Questions cold emailers ask
Is there free cold email software?
Apollo has a free plan: 75 credits a seat a month and 2 sequences, sending from Gmail only. Instantly, Smartlead and lemlist publish no free plan.
Do I need warm-up if the tool includes it?
Warm-up builds a new mailbox’s sending history before a campaign. All four tools include or sell it. Public reviews still name warm-up problems on Instantly (3 of 17) and Smartlead (4 of 20).
Which cold email tool includes leads?
Apollo, through its credit pool. Instantly sells lead search on Credits plans, lemlist sells data credits and Smartlead sells verified prospect emails as an add-on.
Every AI email marketing page, sorted by job, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- Instantly: Instantly pricing (Markdown edition), Outreach plans: unlimited email accounts and warm-up, uploaded-contact and monthly email caps; Credits plans sold separately. Checked
- Instantly: Instantly Terms of Service (23 October 2026), 4.3 and 6.3(b). Checked
- Smartlead: Smartlead pricing (Markdown edition), unlimited email accounts on every plan; warm-up tier per plan; stored contacts and monthly sends capped. Checked
- Smartlead: Smartlead Terms and Conditions (19 May 2026), clause 12. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist pricing, Email plan 50,000 emails a month; Multichannel per user with 5 senders; lemwarm in all plans; data credits add-on. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist Terms (17 September 2025), article 12. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist AI information, AI Copilot powered by Claude; AI Columns models. Checked
- Apollo.io: Apollo.io pricing, credits give access to emails, phone numbers, email warmup, domains and mailboxes; Free sends from Gmail only. Checked
- Apollo.io: Apollo.io AI Policy (10 August 2026). Checked
- Federal Trade Commission: CAN-SPAM Act: a compliance guide for business. Checked
- Information Commissioner's Office: How do we comply with the PECR electronic mail marketing rules?, consent before marketing email to individual subscribers, sole traders included; corporate subscribers exempt. Checked
- Intersoft Consulting (GDPR text): GDPR Article 21, right to object. Checked