Best newsletter platforms: fees, prices at your list size and AI
Verdict on newsletter platforms
Pick by how the newsletter earns: Kit to grow free, beehiiv to sell subscriptions and ads at 0% (read ). Substack bills nothing until readers pay, then keeps 10% of every payment. Above $790 a month in paid revenue, that 10% costs more than beehiiv Lite’s flat plan at 2,500 subscribers.
For a newsletter you plan to grow past 2,500 readers before charging: Kit
Kit Free covers up to 10,000 subscribers; selling costs 3.5% plus 30 cents a sale, Free plan included.
For paid subscriptions and sponsorship income without a revenue share: beehiiv
Lite takes 0% of paid subscriptions and opens the Ad Network, the referral programme and paid recommendations.
For readers found inside a network, with no monthly bill: Substack
Free newsletters cost nothing at any size; paid subscriptions cost 10% of revenue plus Stripe card fees.
For AI drafting on the cheapest paid plan under 2,500 subscribers: MailerLite
Comfort adds the AI writing assistant; MailerLite says it takes 0% of paid subscriptions, Stripe fees apart.
| Tool | Monthly from (USD) | Free plan | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | $59 | Yes | Newsletter platform priced by subscriber bucket, free to 2,500, unlimited sends, 0% cut of paid subscriptions. |
| Kit | $39 | Yes | Creator email platform: free to 10,000 subscribers, paid plans by subscriber tier, AI Connectors (MCP). |
| MailerLite | $12 | Yes | Newsletter and automation platform priced by subscriber count, with an AI writing assistant on paid plans. |
| Substack | Free | Yes | Writing and publishing network with no monthly fee: free newsletters, and 10% plus card fees on paid subscriptions. |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Prices checked between 1 Nov 2026 and 6 Nov 2026.
A newsletter platform hosts your list, sends each issue and, on most plans, sells paid subscriptions.
What each platform costs at your list size
Kit Free and Substack’s free newsletter cost nothing at 10,000 subscribers. At 50,000, beehiiv Lite is the cheapest paid plan of the three that charge by list size.
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | $379 Creator | Free: up to 10,000 contactsUnlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, tagging, segmentation, A/B testing of broadcasts, API access, digital products. No visual automations, sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI Connectors or paid apps. Wording is under 10,000in one sentence and up to 10,000in another (help centre, 2026-09-23). | kit.com/pricing | |
| beehiiv | $0 Free | $0 Free | $139 Lite | $299 Lite | Free: up to 2,500 contactsUnlimited email sends, 1 seat, 1 publication, website, podcast, community, 30-day analytics, limited AI usage. No custom domain, automations, A/B testing or beehiiv AI in the editor; beehiiv branding stays. | beehiiv.com/pricing | |
| MailerLite | $12 Comfort | $33 Comfort | $89 Comfort | $319 Comfort | Free: up to 250 contacts, 2,500 emails a month250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, 2 seats, 1 website, 1 landing page, 3 forms, 3 automations, MailerLite logo, knowledge base support only. Subject line generator limited, AI landing page builder once, no AI writing assistant. | mailerlite.com/pricing | |
| Substack | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | Free planNo subscriber cap or send limit found on the pages read. Free newsletters pay nothing; the 10% fee applies only to paid subscription revenue. | substack.com/going-paid |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
Each platform counts its list its own way. MailerLite bills active subscribers only. Unsubscribed and bounced addresses fall out of its count.
beehiiv counts unique email addresses and rounds up to its next bucket. Kit moves you up a tier automatically, but moving down is a manual request. Your own list size and send volume go into the email marketing price finder.
What each platform takes from paid subscriptions
A paid subscription is a reader paying you monthly or yearly for issues. Two costs come out of each payment: the platform’s own fee and the card processor’s fee.
Substack’s fee is a share of revenue: “10% of paid subscription revenue, plus Stripe card fees” (Substack). beehiiv lists a “0% Take Rate on Paid Subscriptions” from Lite, with Stripe’s 2.9% plus $0.30 per payment on top (beehiiv pricing).
Kit charges 3.5% plus $0.30 a sale, and calls that “the only cost of selling through Kit” (Kit help centre). MailerLite says it “takes 0% commission on your paid subscriptions” and that “Only Stripe fees apply” (MailerLite).
Here is what that means for one example: 2,500 subscribers, 100 of them paying $8 a month, so $800 a month in revenue.
| Platform | Plan at 2,500 | Plan price | Platform fee | Card processing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | Free | $0 | $58 | Inside Kit’s fee, by Kit’s wording |
| Substack | Free newsletter | $0 | $80 | Stripe card fees on top |
| beehiiv | Lite, up to 2,500 | $79 | $0 | $53.20 |
| MailerLite | Power, up to 2,500 | $49 | $0 | Stripe fees on top |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Kit Free costs least in this example, since its $58 already includes card processing and every other row pays Stripe on top. Its sequences and visual automations stay locked until Creator. MailerLite’s row uses Power because its own Substack comparison prices paid newsletters on that plan. Its pricing table lists “Send paid newsletters” without readable plan ticks, so Comfort at $33 is the lower bound.
The break-even with Substack is plain arithmetic. beehiiv Lite at 2,500 costs $79, and 10% of revenue reaches that at $790 a month. Below that, Substack’s share costs less than the plan; above it, the flat plan wins.
The newsletter platforms, one by one
Kit: free to 10,000 subscribers
Kit Free covers “Up to 10,000 email subscribers” with broadcasts, forms, landing pages and A/B testing of broadcasts (Kit free plan). Automated sequences and visual automations start on Creator, $39 a month at the 1,000-subscriber step. Kit pricing shows every tier.
Growth comes from the Creator Network: Free accounts get five Smart Recommendation slots. Earning from Paid Recommendations needs a paid plan. Users praise how easy Kit is to learn (6 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Slow support once a billing or technical problem starts is the most cited complaint (5 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
- Best for
- Solo creators and small newsletter or course businesses under 10,000 subscribers, free without automations or paid with visual automations priced by list size.
- Skip it if
- you need automated welcome sequences from day one: Kit Free has none, and Creator steps up with every subscriber tier.
beehiiv: subscriptions and ads at a 0% take rate
beehiiv’s Free plan covers 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends and a website. Paid subscriptions, the Ad Network, the referral programme and paid recommendations all start on Lite, $59 a month up to 1,000 subscribers (beehiiv pricing).
The card shows yearly billing, so its figures sit below the monthly prices in this list. The pricing page marks the Ad Network “not in trial; not in all regions”. beehiiv pricing prices every list size.
The free Recommendation Network brings readers too. Three users in one r/Newsletters thread say recommendations give passive growth once set up (r/Newsletters). Other threads call ad network pay hard to estimate (3 of 19: r/Newsletters, r/Newsletters).
- Best for
- Newsletter publishers who want a site, paid subscriptions and the ad network in one tool, with under 2,500 subscribers or ready to pay Lite prices.
- Skip it if
- your list passes 2,500 before it earns: Lite’s price climbs with each subscriber bucket, while Kit Free costs nothing up to 10,000.
Substack: no bill until readers pay
Substack has no monthly plan. A free newsletter costs nothing at any size, and the 10% fee starts with the first paid subscriber.
How much can you make on Substack?
The fee Substack is free to start and takes 10% of paid subscription revenue, plus Stripe card fees.
Writers keep Writers keep 90% of their revenue minus credit card fees.
The network is what writers come for. Restacks and recommendations reach readers outside your own list (3 of 19: r/Newsletters, Trustpilot).
The largest complaint group is readers signed up without their consent (5 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Publications suspended without a clear reason sit among the complaints too (3 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). beehiiv vs Substack sets the two side by side.
- Best for
- Writers wanting readers to find them in Substack’s network and earning from paid subscriptions, so the 10% fee applies only when money comes in.
- Skip it if
- your paid revenue passes the break-even above: from there, Substack’s 10% costs more each month than beehiiv Lite’s flat plan.
MailerLite: the cheapest paid plan with AI writing
MailerLite’s Comfort plan costs $12 a month for 500 subscribers and adds the AI writing assistant and smart sending (MailerLite pricing).
The card shows yearly billing; the monthly price above is higher. Free stops at 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month. MailerLite has no recommendation network or ad network among the features on its pricing page.
MailerLite has two public reviews in our set, too few to show a pattern. Kit vs MailerLite compares the two plan by plan.
- Best for
- Small lists that want automations, landing pages and AI drafting at a low entry price: Comfort starts at $12 a month for 500 subscribers.
- Skip it if
- you want AI drafts kept out of model training: MailerLite’s terms 17.3 license it to use AI inputs and outputs to improve AI models.
Ghost: no transaction fee from Publisher, priced by members
Ghost sells hosted plans billed yearly, priced by members. At 1,000 members, billed yearly, Starter costs $18 a month and Publisher $29 a month (Ghost pricing).
Paid subscriptions start on Publisher, and Ghost takes no transaction fee there: “Payment processor fees still apply.” Starter has no paid subscriptions. The pricing page shows no price above 1,000 members and names no AI features.
What the AI writers in these tools do
An AI newsletter generator drafts an issue, rewrites a paragraph or suggests a subject line inside the editor. In these platforms it is a plan feature, so the plan decides whether you get it.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | Subject lines AI email writing tools (subject line generator and tester) | Not stated | kit.com/ai says subject lines are generated and tested in the broadcast editor. No plan and no usage limit stated on that page; lowest plan not verified. | |
| Kit | Other AI Connectors (Kit MCP) | Creator | 65+ tools let Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other clients read the account and act on it; Free can connect but not run tools; rate limit 120 requests a minute per connection. | |
| Kit | Other AI apps in the Kit App Store | Free apps on any plan; paid apps need Creator or Pro | Third-party apps (kit.com/ai names involve.me, Lex, Wordsmith, Ada) vary; some free, some subscriptions. Each app has its own data practices. | |
| beehiiv | Email writing beehiiv AI (in-editor) | Lite | AI usage included: Limited on Free, Elevated on Lite, 5x Lite on Pro, custom on Enterprise. Credit amounts not published. | |
| beehiiv | AI agent beehiiv Agent and MCP | Free (read) / Lite (write) | Read access on every plan; write access from Lite. The MCP also serves a get_pricing tool. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI website builder | Free | Listed in the Free plan’s included features. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI podcast newsletter | Pro | Turns podcast episodes into a newsletter; Pro and Enterprise only. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI bot control | Pro | Controls AI crawler access to the publication’s site; not a writing feature. | |
| MailerLite | Subject lines Subject line generator | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Free is marked Limited without a stated cap. | |
| MailerLite | Email writing AI writing assistant | Comfort | Not on Free. Runs on credits: Comfort has a limited amount, Power the most (help article, edited 16 June 2026). | |
| MailerLite | Send time Smart sending | Comfort | Not on Free. Also deliver by timezone on Comfort. | |
| MailerLite | AI agent MCP server (Claude, ChatGPT) | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Terms clause 17.2: connecting an agent authorises it to read and modify account data. | |
| MailerLite | Images AI landing page builder | Free (once); unlimited use on Comfort | The AI policy also lists an AI image generator (DALL-E 3); its plan was not stated. | |
| MailerLite | Other AI-powered A/B testing | Listed under HeyLite intelligence; plan not itemised | Named in the pricing page menu; the comparison table lists email A/B testing on all plans and multivariate testing on Comfort. | |
| Substack | Other Generative AI tools (images or text from prompts) | Not stated | The terms say Substack may offersuch tools; no named writing or subject line feature, plan or limit was found on the going-paid page or the terms. Not verified as a live feature. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
beehiiv puts its AI in the editor from Lite; Free has limited AI usage and no in-editor AI. MailerLite’s writing assistant needs Comfort, and its subject line generator is limited on Free.
Kit’s AI page describes a subject line generator and tester in the broadcast editor but names no plan. Kit’s AI Connectors let ChatGPT or Claude act on your account from Creator (Kit MCP).
Substack’s terms say it “may offer” generative AI tools; its going-paid page and terms name no writing feature or plan. Ghost’s pricing page lists none. AI features in email tools sets these plans beside the general email platforms.
Does your newsletter platform train AI on your issues?
Kit gives the clearest answer. Its help centre says “Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data”. The line sits in an FAQ, and the terms say nothing on training. MailerLite’s terms 17.3 grant it a licence “to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models”.
beehiiv’s terms do not mention training, and its pricing page lists “No-training / zero-retention” in the Enterprise column only. Substack’s terms say its AI services run through third-party providers and name no training rule. Does your email tool train AI? reads the same clauses for every email platform.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | No | Kit’s help centre says Kit itself does not train any AI or LLM on Kit data, including email content and de-identified subscriber data. The statement is in the AI Connectors FAQ; the terms and privacy policy do not mention training, and a third-party AI client you connect applies its own settings. | Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider's own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.AI Connectors help article, Security and data FAQ (terms clause 8.2 licence to develop, maintain and improve the Servicesdoes not mention AI) | Dated 1 Oct 2026 |
| beehiiv | The terms do not say | The terms of use (6 Oct 2026), privacy policy and DPA (16 Jul 2026) contain no statement on training AI models with customer content. The only controls are section 3, which lets beehiiv compile anonymised Aggregated Statistics from your Content, and the pricing page, which lists No-training / zero-retentionas an Enterprise-only feature. Opt out: Not stated; the no-training and zero-retention option appears only in the Enterprise column of the feature table. | beehiiv may compile Aggregated Statistics based on your ContentTerms of Use section 3 (Aggregated Statistics); DPA heading Confidentiality and Trainingholds only a staff confidentiality clause (19) | Dated 6 Oct 2026 |
| MailerLite | Yes | Terms clause 17.3 grants MailerLite a licence to use your AI Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models. The AI policy and privacy policy 3.6 say its partners OpenAI and Google do not train on your data under enterprise agreements. No opt-out was found. | You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models, and you agree to comply with any restrictions on AI usage.Terms of service 17.3 | Dated 22 Sep 2026 |
| Substack | The terms do not say | Neither the terms of use (6 Oct 2026) nor the privacy notice (14 May 2026) says Substack trains AI models on posts or subscriber data. The terms say AI services are run by third-party providers whose own sub-processors may handle data, and the content licence includes the right to improveSubstack. | Our AI services are facilitated by third-party service providers, together with those vendors' own subprocessors and service providers. Our Privacy Notice applies to all AI services and speaks to how we and our service providers may access and use related dataTerms of Use, Artificial Intelligence Services on Substack; Privacy Policy, third-party providers of generative AI services | Dated 6 Oct 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Left out, and why
Buttondown, Flodesk, Patreon and Medium also host paid writing or newsletters. They have no row in our email price data. Mailchimp and Brevo appear on the general AI email marketing list.
Questions newsletter writers ask
Which newsletter platform stays free for the biggest list?
Kit. Its free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers, while beehiiv Free stops at 2,500 and MailerLite Free at 250.
Is there a Substack alternative with no revenue share?
Yes: beehiiv, MailerLite and Ghost take 0% of paid subscriptions. beehiiv needs Lite and Ghost needs Publisher; card processing fees still apply.
Can AI write my newsletter?
It can draft one. beehiiv’s in-editor AI starts on Lite, and MailerLite’s writing assistant on Comfort. Check every fact and price in a draft before it goes out.
Every AI email marketing page, sorted by job, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- beehiiv: beehiiv pricing (Markdown edition), 0% take rate on paid subscriptions from Lite; Ad Network, referral program and paid recommendations from Lite; Stripe 2.9% + 30 cents. Checked
- Substack: Substack, going paid, free to start; 10% of paid subscription revenue plus Stripe card fees. Checked
- Kit: Kit help centre, selling digital products overview and FAQs, 3.5% plus 30 cents per transaction in USD, on every plan including Free. Checked
- Kit: Kit help centre, the Kit free plan, up to 10,000 subscribers; Creator Network recommendations; Paid Recommendations need a paid plan. Checked
- Kit: Kit help centre, AI Connectors (Kit MCP), Security and data FAQ on AI training. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite pricing, AI writing assistant from Comfort; subject line generator limited on Free. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite, Substack alternative, 0% commission on paid subscriptions; only Stripe fees apply. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite Terms of Service (22 September 2026), 17.3. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Terms of Use (6 October 2026), section 3. Checked
- Substack: Substack Terms of Use (6 October 2026). Checked
- Kit: Kit AI, subject lines generated and tested in the broadcast editor; no plan stated. Checked
- Ghost Foundation: Ghost pricing, Starter and Publisher billed yearly at 1,000 members; paid subscriptions from Publisher with 0% transaction fee. Checked