Best AI email marketing tools
Verdict on AI email marketing tools
Brevo prices AI email writing lowest of these nine tools at every list size we priced. Starter includes the Aura AI writer and bills by emails sent, assumed at four a contact a month (read ). But Brevo’s terms let it train its AI features on your content (6.7), and automation starts on Standard.
For AI email writing at the lowest monthly price, if you send about four emails a contact: Brevo
Starter includes the Aura AI writer and bills by emails sent; Standard adds marketing automation and AI send-time optimisation.
For a free list of up to 10,000 subscribers: Kit
Kit Free covers up to 10,000 subscribers without automations; Kit’s help centre says Kit trains no AI on Kit data.
For AI drafting and automations billed on active subscribers only: MailerLite
Comfort adds the AI writing assistant and smart sending; unsubscribed and bounced addresses are not billed.
For AI writing under terms that say the model does not learn from your content: GetResponse
Terms section 10 says its chosen AI does not learn from customer content; unlimited AI generators start on Marketer.
For an online store that wants predictive data on its first paid plan: Klaviyo
The Email plan card lists predictive analytics and AI segments; the bill follows active profiles.
| Tool | Monthly from (USD) | Free plan | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign | $15 billed yearly | No | Email automation with a CRM option, four plans priced by contact count, and an AI layer called Active Intelligence. |
| Brevo | $9 | Yes | Email, SMS and transactional platform (formerly Sendinblue) priced by emails sent, with a free plan of 300 emails a day. |
| GetResponse | $19 | No | Email marketing with unlimited sends, priced by list size from 1,000 contacts, plus landing pages and webinars. |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | $20 | Yes | Marketing automation inside the HubSpot CRM, sold per seat plus a marketing-contact tier, with 2,000 free sends a month. |
| Kit | $39 | Yes | Creator email platform: free to 10,000 subscribers, paid plans by subscriber tier, AI Connectors (MCP). |
| Klaviyo | $20 | Yes | Email and SMS platform for online stores, billed by active profiles, with AI segments, content and agents. |
| Mailchimp | $13 | Yes | Intuit-owned email platform priced by contact tier, with generative AI on Standard and Premium; Free has 250 contacts. |
| MailerLite | $12 | Yes | Newsletter and automation platform priced by subscriber count, with an AI writing assistant on paid plans. |
| Omnisend | $16 | Yes | Email, SMS and web push platform for online stores, billed by contact count, with AI writing on the free plan. |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Prices checked 6 Nov 2026.
How the list was built
Every tool here sells email campaigns with AI features built in. AI in an email tool means software that drafts copy, suggests subject lines, groups contacts or picks a send time.
We ranked the nine on two checkable things. The first is the monthly price at 2,500 and 10,000 contacts; the second is which plan switches the AI on.
One warning before the numbers. The vendors count your list differently. Klaviyo bills active profiles, Mailchimp bills unsubscribed contacts too, GetResponse counts the same address once per list and Brevo bills emails sent. The price table follows each vendor’s own count, so check how your list would be counted before you compare.
What each tool costs at 2,500 and 10,000 contacts
Kit is free up to 10,000 subscribers, and Brevo is the cheapest paid plan at both sizes. HubSpot costs the most from 2,500 contacts up: its Starter plan adds a fee per block of 1,000 marketing contacts (HubSpot product catalogue).
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brevo | $0 Free | $25 Starter | $46 Starter | $249 Standard | Free: up to 100,000 contacts, 9,000 emails a month300 emails a day (about 9,000 a month), up to 100,000 stored contacts, 1 user, Brevo logo, automations capped at 2,000 contacts. AI access on Free was not confirmed. | brevo.com/pricing | |
| MailerLite | $12 Comfort | $33 Comfort | $89 Comfort | $319 Comfort | Free: up to 250 contacts, 2,500 emails a month250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, 2 seats, 1 website, 1 landing page, 3 forms, 3 automations, MailerLite logo, knowledge base support only. Subject line generator limited, AI landing page builder once, no AI writing assistant. | mailerlite.com/pricing | |
| Kit | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | $379 Creator | Free: up to 10,000 contactsUnlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, tagging, segmentation, A/B testing of broadcasts, API access, digital products. No visual automations, sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI Connectors or paid apps. Wording is under 10,000in one sentence and up to 10,000in another (help centre, 2026-09-23). | kit.com/pricing | |
| GetResponse | $19 Starter | $29 Starter | $79 Starter | $299 Starter | No free plan | getresponse.com/pricing | |
| ActiveCampaign | $15 Starter, billed yearly only | $39 Starter, billed yearly only | $149 Starter, billed yearly only | $609 Plus, billed yearly only | No free plan | activecampaign.com/pricing | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | $20 Marketing Hub Starter | $120 Marketing Hub Starter | $410 Marketing Hub Starter | $2,010 Marketing Hub Starter | Free: 2,000 emails a monthFree tools allow 2,000 email sends per calendar month with HubSpot branding (catalogue, free tools section). Smart CRM contacts are free; the free tools carry limited versions of paid features. | hubspot.com/pricing/marketing | |
| Mailchimp | $13 Essentials | $45 Essentials | $110 Essentials | $385 Essentials | Free: up to 250 contacts, 500 emails a month250 contacts, 500 sends a month with 250 a day, 1 audience, 1 seat, Mailchimp branding, no scheduling, limited templates, no generative AI. Sending is held above 250 contacts. | mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing | |
| Klaviyo | $20 Email | $60 Email | $150 Email | $720 Email | Free: up to 250 contacts, 500 emails a monthUp to 250 active profiles and 500 email sends a month, 5 USD of mobile messages and 5 USD of Composer usage a month, basic templates, AI subject line generator, reporting. Email support for the first 60 days. Over either cap the account cannot send until the next cycle or an upgrade. | klaviyo.com/pricing | |
| Omnisend | $16 Standard | $44 Standard | $132 Standard | $413 Standard | Free: up to 250 contacts, 500 emails a month500 emails a month, 250 contacts, 500 web push notifications, Omnisend branding required. Free plan includes AI subject lines, content writing, segmentation and form creation (omnisend.com/ai). SMS and the Pro AI tools are not included. | omnisend.com/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
The table shows the cheapest plan at each size, which does not always include AI writing. GetResponse Starter caps its AI generators at three uses. Mailchimp Essentials has no generative AI.
ActiveCampaign’s pricing page shows yearly billing only, so its figures are monthly rates billed for a year. The email marketing price tracker works out your own list size and send volume.
Which plan switches the AI on
AI writing is on the free plan at Omnisend and on the first paid plan at Brevo, MailerLite and Klaviyo. GetResponse, Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign put it one plan higher. HubSpot’s Content agent and AI email template upload need Professional, and Kit names no plan for its subject line tool.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brevo | Subject lines AI content generator (Aura) | Starter | Same feature as above. | |
| Brevo | Email writing AI content generator (Aura) | Starter | Drafts subject lines and email copy, adjusts tone. Free plan access unconfirmed (help.brevo.com blocked). | |
| Brevo | Segments AI segmentation (Aura) | Professional | Suggests audience groups from behaviour and attributes; an AI Segmentation add-on is described in the terms. | |
| Brevo | Send time AI send time optimization | Standard | Sends when each contact is most likely to engage. | |
| Brevo | Product picks AI recommendations (advanced ecommerce) | Professional | AI product recommendations, back-in-stock alerts and coupons. | |
| Brevo | AI agent MCP for ChatGPT and Claude | Starter | Manage campaigns and contacts from ChatGPT, Claude and other AI tools. | |
| Brevo | Other AI Data Analyst (Aura) | Professional | Plain-language questions answered from your data. | |
| MailerLite | Subject lines Subject line generator | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Free is marked Limited without a stated cap. | |
| MailerLite | Email writing AI writing assistant | Comfort | Not on Free. Runs on credits: Comfort has a limited amount, Power the most (help article, edited 16 June 2026). | |
| MailerLite | Send time Smart sending | Comfort | Not on Free. Also deliver by timezone on Comfort. | |
| MailerLite | AI agent MCP server (Claude, ChatGPT) | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Terms clause 17.2: connecting an agent authorises it to read and modify account data. | |
| MailerLite | Images AI landing page builder | Free (once); unlimited use on Comfort | The AI policy also lists an AI image generator (DALL-E 3); its plan was not stated. | |
| MailerLite | Other AI-powered A/B testing | Listed under HeyLite intelligence; plan not itemised | Named in the pricing page menu; the comparison table lists email A/B testing on all plans and multivariate testing on Comfort. | |
| Kit | Subject lines AI email writing tools (subject line generator and tester) | Not stated | kit.com/ai says subject lines are generated and tested in the broadcast editor. No plan and no usage limit stated on that page; lowest plan not verified. | |
| Kit | Other AI Connectors (Kit MCP) | Creator | 65+ tools let Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other clients read the account and act on it; Free can connect but not run tools; rate limit 120 requests a minute per connection. | |
| Kit | Other AI apps in the Kit App Store | Free apps on any plan; paid apps need Creator or Pro | Third-party apps (kit.com/ai names involve.me, Lex, Wordsmith, Ada) vary; some free, some subscriptions. Each app has its own data practices. | |
| GetResponse | Subject lines AI subject line generator | Starter (up to 3 uses); unlimited from Marketer | Same cap as the email generator | |
| GetResponse | Email writing AI email generator | Starter (up to 3 uses); unlimited from Marketer | Starter is capped at Up to 3 uses; Marketer, Creator and Enterprise show it as available without a limit | |
| GetResponse | Send time Perfect timing | listed in the email marketing table; plan columns not readable as text | Shown as a feature row; the check marks per plan are icons, so the lowest plan is not confirmed | |
| GetResponse | Product picks AI product recommendations | Enterprise | Listed under Enterprise inclusions | |
| ActiveCampaign | Email writing AI content generation | Plus | Not included on Starter | |
| ActiveCampaign | Segments AI-suggested segments | Starter | Included on all four plans | |
| ActiveCampaign | Send time AI campaign calendar: account-based send times | Plus (account-based); Pro (account and industry-based) | Not on Starter | |
| ActiveCampaign | Predictions Predictive sending | Pro | Not on Starter or Plus | |
| ActiveCampaign | Images AI image generation | Plus | Not included on Starter; image generation uses AI credits | |
| ActiveCampaign | Other Active Intelligence workspace and sidebar | Starter (limited access); unlimited on Pro and Enterprise | All plans include 500 AI credits; core AI keeps working when credits run out | |
| ActiveCampaign | Other AI-powered automation builder and AI campaign builder | Starter | Included on all four plans | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | Email writing Breeze Assistant (generates content inside the CRM) | Smart CRM (edition marks not readable as text) | The catalogue lists it under Smart CRM as an assistant that can generate content; whether every edition has it was not readable | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | Send time Email send time optimization (Beta) | Enterprise | Not on Professional | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | AI agent Content agent (Beta) | Professional | Consumes HubSpot Credits (3,000 a month on Professional, 5,000 on Enterprise) | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | Personalisation Brand voice / Brand identity (Beta) | not confirmed | Listed as a feature row; plan marks not readable as text | |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | Other AI email template upload (Beta) | Professional | 100 uploads a month on Professional and Enterprise | |
| Mailchimp | Email writing Generative AI features (content generation) | Standard | Listed as No additional cost add-onon Standard and Premium, Not includedon Essentials and Free. Terms 30 says it covers campaigns, performance analysis and organising contacts. | |
| Mailchimp | Segments Advanced segmentation and pre-built segments | Standard | Not marked as AI on the page. | |
| Mailchimp | Predictions Predictive segmentation | Standard | Named in the Premium feature set; footnote 17 says Predictive segments available on Standard or Premium plans only. | |
| Klaviyo | Subject lines AI subject line generator | Free | Listed in the free plan’s marketing features. | |
| Klaviyo | Email writing Email AI / SMS AI (generative content, sparkle icon) | The Email plan card lists AI-generated segments, content, and images; usage limits were not stated. | ||
| Klaviyo | Segments Segments AI | Same card line as above. | ||
| Klaviyo | Predictions Predictive analytics (K:AI) | Listed on the Email card (Predictive analytics and reporting dashboards); the FAQ says it cannot be opted out of. | ||
| Klaviyo | AI agent Composer (Marketing Agent) | Free (5 USD of usage); 20 USD a month add-on for four times the usage | Extra usage in 10 USD increments. | |
| Klaviyo | Reply handling Customer Agent | Add-on | 50 free AI resolutions a month listed; paid resolution price sits behind a slider and was not read. | |
| Omnisend | Subject lines AI-generated subject lines and preheaders | Free | The AI page’s FAQ says the free plan includes subject line generation; no credit limits stated. | |
| Omnisend | Email writing AI copywriting / AI Writer in the email builder | Free | Same FAQ line: content writing on the free plan; no limits stated. | |
| Omnisend | Segments AI Segment Builder | Free (per AI page); listed as a feature row on the pricing table | Plain-language prompt builds a segment; the table’s per-plan tick marks are icons and could not be read as text. | |
| Omnisend | Send time Personalised sending time | Pro, or Standard add-on from 5 USD a month | Add-on price scales with the contact list. | |
| Omnisend | Product picks Personalised product recommender | Pro, or Standard add-on from 5 USD a month | Add-on price scales with the contact list. | |
| Omnisend | AI agent Omnisend MCP | All plans listed | Lets ChatGPT or Claude read account data and create campaigns; terms clause 11.6. | |
| Omnisend | Personalisation Dynamic content | Pro, or Standard add-on | Shows or hides blocks by audience filter. | |
| Omnisend | Other Forms AI and Reports AI agents | Standard (agent cards list them); Free per AI page for forms | Standard card lists Agent: Formsand Agent: Chat. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
That gap changes the ranking. Priced on the cheapest plan with AI writing, MailerLite comes second at 2,500 contacts and Omnisend third. At 10,000, GetResponse Marketer comes third at $114, ahead of Omnisend and Klaviyo. The guide to AI features in email tools explains what each feature does in a campaign.
Does the tool train AI on your list?
Two of the nine say no in writing: Kit in its help centre and GetResponse in its terms. Four have clauses that allow training on your data, HubSpot lets you opt out, and two read unclear.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | No | Kit’s help centre says Kit itself does not train any AI or LLM on Kit data, including email content and de-identified subscriber data. The statement is in the AI Connectors FAQ; the terms and privacy policy do not mention training, and a third-party AI client you connect applies its own settings. | Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider's own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.AI Connectors help article, Security and data FAQ (terms clause 8.2 licence to develop, maintain and improve the Servicesdoes not mention AI) | Dated 1 Oct 2026 |
| GetResponse | No | Section 10 of the terms says the AI solutions chosen ensure that the model does not learn from the content provided by the Customer. It is a statement about third-party providers (OpenAI, and Azure OpenAI for the course-creator AI support), not an opt-out setting. Customer input is sent to those providers for processing. The privacy policy separately says GetResponse applies AI to its own support feedback after masking data, and that Google Workspace API data is not used to train generalized AI models. | The AI solutions we have selected ensure that the model does not learn from the content provided by the Customer.10. Artificial intelligence (AI) | Dated 2026-06-09 (terms-us page); the /legal page of the same text is dated 2026-09-24 |
| HubSpot Marketing Hub | Yes, unless you opt out | Customer Terms of Service 5.3.1: HubSpot may use Customer Data to develop and improve its AI features and to train its AI models; you can opt out in your account settings, and opting out does not stop you using AI features. Some AI settings are on by default (Product Specific Terms 7.1). The privacy policy says HubSpot may process personal data to train our AI models. Under 7.6 your AI input and output are shared with third-party AI providers. Opt out: Account settings; the terms point to the knowledge-base article Opt out of HubSpot’s machine learning data use(page not found at the guessed URL, so the exact menu path is unverified). | We may also use Customer Data to train our AI models in compliance with our obligations under the Agreement. You may opt out of having your Customer Data used for this purpose by updating your settings in your HubSpot account.5.3.1 Machine Learning and AI (Customer Terms of Service) | Dated 16 Sep 2026 |
| Brevo | Yes | Terms 6.7 says Brevo may use Content and Usage Data to enrich and train its AI Features, for improving the Services provided to you, in particular fraud, phishing and spam prevention. AI third-party providers only process your data to provide the AI Features. The Control Center manages AI Features, but fraud and spam detection cannot be disabled. Opt out: Control Center in the app manages AI Features; the terms do not say it stops training, and fraud and spam detection cannot be turned off. | Brevo may use Content and Usage Data to enrich and train its AI Features for the sole purpose of improving the performance of the Services provided to You, in particular to prevent fraud, phishing and unsolicited electronic communications, and to secure the Services.Terms of use 6.7 | Dated 1 Oct 2025 |
| MailerLite | Yes | Terms clause 17.3 grants MailerLite a licence to use your AI Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models. The AI policy and privacy policy 3.6 say its partners OpenAI and Google do not train on your data under enterprise agreements. No opt-out was found. | You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models, and you agree to comply with any restrictions on AI usage.Terms of service 17.3 | Dated 22 Sep 2026 |
| Mailchimp | Yes | Terms section 30 grants Mailchimp an irrevocable licence to AI Inputs and Outputs for any purpose including developing and improving the AI Model, and says it may use them, including Customer Data, for machine learning. It mentions account-setting preferences but does not say they stop training. The Intuit Global Privacy Statement lists training AI models as a use of personal information. Opt out: Terms 30 says You may select preferences about your data by visiting your account settings; the terms do not say this switches training off. | We may use your Inputs and Outputs, including Customer Data, for machine learning purposes in order to develop and improve the AI Model, the Services, and similar products and features, and you instruct us to process Customer Data for such purposes.Standard Terms of Use 30 | Dated 10 Oct 2025 |
| ActiveCampaign | Yes | Terms of Service section 4 lets ActiveCampaign view, copy, and internally use Marketing Content to help us train and improve the Servicesand use Contact Data to trainthe Services. The clause does not name AI models and gives no opt-out. Section 5.3 says ActiveCampaign does not claim ownership of AI prompts or output. The privacy policy (last updated 2026-10-01) has no AI-training clause. Read from Wayback captures because the live legal pages blocked fetches. | we may view, copy, and internally use Marketing Content to help us train and improve the Services, including their functionality and effectiveness for you and your campaigns4. Our Services; License | Dated 2025-12-23 (Last Updated, per the 2026-10-05 Wayback capture) |
| Klaviyo | The terms do not say | Clause 8.1 bars using Customer Data to train third-party foundation models, and the Customer Agent help article says customer data is never used to train large language models. The terms are silent on Klaviyo’s own models, and clause 7.3 lets it use aggregated data that does not identify the customer for service improvement and product development. Opt out: None found. The AI FAQ says machine learning and predictive analytics cannot be opted out of; generative AI features are optional. | Customer Data will not be used to train third-party foundation models.8.1 (also 7.3 Aggregated Data) | Dated 17 Dec 2025 |
| Omnisend | The terms do not say | The Terms of Use (30 April 2026) say the customer owns AI outputs (11.3) but contain no sentence on training models with customer content, and the privacy policy (18 June 2026) has none either. Clause 10.7 lets Omnisend use aggregated, non-personally-identifiable data for benchmarking, research and marketing analyses, and 10.6 lets it copy content to build account-abuse tools. | a non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, fully-paid up, sublicensable, Territory-wide license to use, compile, license and distribute data derived from the interaction of non-personally identifiable Target Data with the Services10.7 (also 10.6, 11.2) | Dated 30 Apr 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Mailchimp’s clause is the widest: it covers your inputs and outputs, “including Customer Data”, for machine learning (terms section 30). Brevo limits its training to improving the services, “in particular” fraud and spam prevention (terms 6.7). The guide on whether your email tool trains AI quotes every clause in full.
The nine tools, one by one
Each section gives the price at your list size, the AI by plan, the training clause and counted user reviews. Sections run from the cheapest plan with AI at 2,500 contacts to the dearest.
Brevo: AI writing on the cheapest paid plan
Brevo bills by emails sent, with a contact cap per email tier. Starter costs $9 a month for 5,000 emails and 500 contacts (Brevo pricing). At about four emails a contact, 2,500 contacts lands on the 15,000-email tier, $25. 10,000 contacts costs $46.
The Aura AI content generator drafts subject lines and copy from Starter. AI send-time optimisation and marketing automation start on Standard, $18 a month before the email tier. AI segments and product recommendations sit on Professional.
Terms 6.7 let Brevo train its AI features on your content and usage data.
Terms of use, 6.7
Brevo may use Content and Usage Data to enrich and train its AI Features for the sole purpose of improving the performance of the Services provided to You, in particular to prevent fraud, phishing and unsolicited electronic communications, and to secure the Services.
Brevo treats every automation email as transactional, so the unsubscribe link in those emails blocks only transactional mail (1 of 5 sources, Reddit). That matters if you run marketing flows under GDPR. One user calls the free tier of 300 emails a day enough for a small business (1 of 5, Reddit). Our Brevo pricing breakdown prices every email tier.
- Best for
- Lists that send rarely: Free stores up to 100,000 contacts and sends 300 emails a day; Starter costs $9 a month for 5,000 emails.
- Skip it if
- you email the whole list twice a week or more. Brevo bills sends, so 10,000 contacts at that pace land on a higher tier than the four-send figure here.
MailerLite: AI drafting and automations on Comfort
MailerLite bills active subscribers only. Unsubscribed and bounced addresses do not count, though an address active at any point in a billing cycle counts for that cycle (MailerLite pricing FAQ). Comfort starts at $12 a month for 500 subscribers and costs $33 at 2,500.
Comfort adds the AI writing assistant, the full subject line generator and smart sending. Free gets a limited subject line generator and one use of the AI landing page builder.
Terms clause 17.3 grant MailerLite “a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models” (terms, 22 September 2026).
Terms of service, 17.3
You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models, and you agree to comply with any restrictions on AI usage.
MailerLite vs Mailchimp sets the two side by side.
- Best for
- Small lists that want automations, landing pages and AI drafting at a low entry price: Comfort starts at $12 a month for 500 subscribers.
- Skip it if
- you need a free plan past 250 subscribers: MailerLite Free stops sending above that, while Kit Free goes to 10,000.
Omnisend: AI writing on the free plan
Omnisend puts AI subject lines, copywriting and segments on its free plan. That plan is capped at 250 contacts and 500 emails a month (Omnisend AI FAQ).
Standard costs $44 at 2,500 contacts. Product recommendations and personalised send times need Pro or a paid Standard add-on.
Omnisend bills subscribers and any non-subscriber who received an automated message; unsubscribed contacts are not billed. Its terms (30 April 2026) contain no sentence on training models with your content. Clause 10.7 takes a licence to aggregated data that does not identify anyone, so we mark it unclear.
Users find it easy to set up, often calling it less intimidating than Klaviyo (17 of the 60 newest four- and five-star reviews: Shopify App Store, Shopify App Store). Suspensions at sign-up appear in 6 of the 56 newest one- and two-star reviews (Shopify App Store, Shopify App Store).
- Best for
- Online stores on Shopify or similar that want flows, forms and AI copy at a lower list-size price than Klaviyo, and that send mostly email.
- Skip it if
- you plan to import a large list on day one: reviewers describe suspensions at sign-up or after unusual sending.
Kit: free to 10,000 subscribers, AI connectors on Creator
Kit Free covers up to 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts, forms and tagging (Kit help centre). It leaves out visual automations, sequences and AI Connector actions (Free can connect an assistant but not run its tools). Creator costs $39 a month at 1,000 subscribers and $139 at 10,000.
AI Connectors let Claude, ChatGPT and other assistants read the account and act on it, from Creator. Kit’s AI page says the broadcast editor generates and tests subject lines, with no plan named. Kit’s help centre says “Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data” (AI Connectors FAQ).
AI Connectors, security and data FAQ
Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider’s own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.
Users find Kit easy, including those with little technical skill (6 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot), and rarely mention its AI features. Slow support once a billing or technical problem starts leads the complaints (5 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Four of 19 say the price climbs too fast with contacts (Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Kit vs MailerLite compares the two creator plans.
- Best for
- Solo creators and small newsletter or course businesses under 10,000 subscribers, free without automations or paid with visual automations priced by list size.
- Skip it if
- you need automated sequences on a free plan: Kit Free has none, and Creator jumps with every subscriber step.
Klaviyo: predictive data on the Email plan
Klaviyo bills active profiles: contacts with an email address that are not suppressed. The Email plan starts at $20 a month for 251 to 500 profiles and costs $150 at 10,000 (Klaviyo pricing). All plans bill monthly.
The free plan includes an AI subject line generator and a small Composer agent allowance.
The Email plan card adds “AI-generated segments, content, and images” and predictive analytics. Terms 8.1 bar using customer data to train third-party foundation models and say nothing about Klaviyo’s own models, so the answer reads unclear.
Store owners praise flows, segments and revenue reports (14 of the 60 newest four- and five-star reviews: Shopify App Store, Shopify App Store). Bot sign-ups that inflate the profile bill come up too (7 of the 60 newest one- and two-star reviews: Shopify App Store, Shopify App Store).
Support is hard to reach, above all on the free plan or after a billing problem (18 of the 60 newest one- and two-star reviews: Shopify App Store, Shopify App Store).
- Best for
- Online stores with thousands of contacts wanting flows, segments and predictive data, and willing to clean the list to cut the profile count.
- Skip it if
- you want the lowest bill at 10,000 contacts: Klaviyo’s Email plan costs more there than Brevo, MailerLite or GetResponse.
Mailchimp: generative AI from Standard
Mailchimp Essentials costs $13 a month for 500 contacts and has no generative AI. Standard adds it as a “No additional cost add-on” from $20 a month, or $135 at 10,000 (Mailchimp pricing). Subscribed, non-subscribed and unsubscribed contacts all count towards your limit.
Terms section 30 grant Mailchimp an irrevocable licence to your AI inputs and outputs and allow machine learning on customer data. The account-settings preference it mentions is not described as switching training off.
Standard Terms of Use, 30
We may use your Inputs and Outputs, including Customer Data, for machine learning purposes in order to develop and improve the AI Model, the Services, and similar products and features, and you instruct us to process Customer Data for such purposes.
Mailchimp alternatives lists what to move to.
- Best for
- Small lists that want a large integrations catalogue and templates: Essentials starts at $13 a month for 500 contacts.
- Skip it if
- you keep many unsubscribed contacts: Mailchimp bills them, and Essentials has no generative AI at any list size.
GetResponse: unlimited AI generators from Marketer
GetResponse Starter costs $19 a month at 1,000 contacts with unlimited sends, but caps the AI email and subject line generators at three uses (GetResponse pricing). Marketer removes the cap at $59 a month, and $69 at 2,500 contacts. Yearly billing is 18% off.
GetResponse counts contacts per list. The same address on two lists counts twice, and unsubscribed and deleted contacts count in the monthly total (terms). Section 10 says “the model does not learn from the content provided by the Customer”. That is a statement about its AI providers, OpenAI among them.
Support and onboarding calls draw praise (10 of 24 sources, on Trustpilot). Billing and cancellation disputes lead the complaints (5 of 24, on Trustpilot). See the GetResponse pricing breakdown for every list size.
- Best for
- Small lists wanting unlimited sends and AI writing under terms that say the model does not learn from customer content.
- Skip it if
- you keep one contact on several lists: GetResponse counts each list separately, so the bill outgrows your real audience.
ActiveCampaign: automation on Starter, AI writing on Plus
ActiveCampaign Starter includes the AI automation builder and AI-suggested segments for $15 a month billed yearly at 1,000 contacts (archived pricing page). AI content and image generation start on Plus, $49 a month billed yearly. Predictive sending needs Pro.
Section 4 of the terms lets ActiveCampaign “internally use Marketing Content to help us train and improve the Services”. The clause names no AI model and offers no opt-out (terms, 23 December 2025).
Users praise the automation builder (6 of 21 sources, on Trustpilot). Four of 21 call the AI features hit or miss or in the way, on the same site.
- Best for
- Teams needing multi-step automation on the entry plan: Starter has the automation builder, AI segments and sends up to 10 times your contact limit.
- Skip it if
- you want AI copy on the entry plan: Starter has no generative AI, and the pricing page shows yearly billing only.
HubSpot: AI on Professional, at a CRM price
HubSpot Marketing Hub Starter costs $20 a month per core seat with 1,000 marketing contacts. Each extra block of 1,000 adds a fee, so 10,000 contacts costs $410. Only marketing contacts are billed; contacts you never email stay free.
The Content agent and AI email template upload need Professional, $890 a month with a required onboarding fee. Send-time optimisation sits on Enterprise. Terms 5.3.1 let HubSpot train its AI models on customer data, and you can opt out in account settings.
Customer Terms of Service, 5.3.1 Machine Learning and AI
We may also use Customer Data to train our AI models in compliance with our obligations under the Agreement. You may opt out of having your Customer Data used for this purpose by updating your settings in your HubSpot account.
Contracts and auto-renewals lead the user complaints (7 of 22 sources, on Trustpilot). Two of 22 call its AI tools weaker than specialist ones.
- Best for
- Teams already on HubSpot CRM that want email on the same contact record, billed only for contacts they email.
- Skip it if
- you want AI writing on a small budget: the Content agent needs Professional, which carries a required onboarding fee.
Free email marketing tools: what each free plan caps
Kit Free holds the most subscribers you can email at no cost, 10,000. Brevo stores more contacts but caps sending at 300 emails a day. Four free plans stop at 250 contacts.
| Tool | Contacts | Emails | AI on the free plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | Up to 10,000 subscribers | Unlimited broadcasts | Connectors link up but cannot act |
| Brevo | 100,000 stored | 300 a day | None listed on the pricing page |
| MailerLite | 250 subscribers | 2,500 a month | Limited subject line generator |
| Omnisend | 250 contacts | 500 a month | Subject lines, copywriting, segments |
| Klaviyo | 250 active profiles | 500 a month | Subject line generator, Composer allowance |
| Mailchimp | 250 contacts | 500 a month, 250 a day | None |
| HubSpot | Free CRM contacts | 2,000 a month | Limited versions of paid features |
| GetResponse | No free plan | Trial only | None |
| ActiveCampaign | No free plan | Trial only | None |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Free emails carry the vendor’s branding at Brevo, MailerLite, Mailchimp, Omnisend and HubSpot. For AI drafting at no cost, Omnisend’s free plan is the only one here whose page lists AI copywriting.
Left out, and why
beehiiv and Substack are newsletter platforms with paid subscriptions; they sit on the newsletter platforms list. Instantly, lemlist, Smartlead and Apollo send cold outreach from sales mailboxes and bill by seat or plan, so they have their own list.
Questions buyers ask about AI email marketing tools
Is there a free AI email marketing tool?
Yes. Omnisend’s free plan includes AI subject lines and copywriting for up to 250 contacts and 500 emails a month. Klaviyo’s free plan has an AI subject line generator at the same caps.
Which email marketing tool suits a small business on a budget?
At 2,500 contacts, Brevo Starter is the cheapest plan with AI writing, if you send about four emails a contact a month. Kit is free up to 10,000 subscribers without automations or AI Connectors.
Do email marketing tools train AI on my subscriber list?
Some do. Brevo, MailerLite, Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign have terms that allow it, HubSpot allows an opt-out, and Kit and GetResponse say they do not.
Every AI email marketing page, sorted by job, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- Brevo: Brevo pricing, billing by emails sent; contact caps per email tier; Aura AI content generator from Starter. Checked
- Brevo: Brevo Terms of Use (1 October 2025), 6.7. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite pricing, active subscribers billed; AI writing assistant from Comfort. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite Terms of Service (22 September 2026), 17.3. Checked
- Kit: The Kit free plan. Checked
- Kit: Kit pricing. Checked
- Kit: Kit AI, subject line generation and testing in the broadcast editor. Checked
- Kit: How to connect the Kit MCP to your AI tools, Security and data FAQ on AI training. Checked
- GetResponse: GetResponse pricing. Checked
- GetResponse: GetResponse Terms of Service (9 June 2026), section 10. Checked
- ActiveCampaign: ActiveCampaign pricing, archived copy of 26 October 2026. Checked
- ActiveCampaign: ActiveCampaign Terms of Service (23 December 2025), section 4. Checked
- HubSpot: HubSpot Marketing Hub pricing. Checked
- HubSpot: HubSpot product and services catalog. Checked
- HubSpot: HubSpot Customer Terms of Service (16 September 2026), 5.3.1. Checked
- Intuit Mailchimp: Mailchimp marketing pricing. Checked
- Intuit Mailchimp: Mailchimp Standard Terms of Use (10 October 2025), section 30. Checked
- Klaviyo: Klaviyo pricing. Checked
- Klaviyo: Klaviyo Terms of Service (17 December 2025), 8.1. Checked
- Omnisend: Omnisend pricing. Checked
- Omnisend: Omnisend AI, free plan AI features (FAQ). Checked
- Omnisend: Omnisend Terms of Use (30 April 2026). Checked