adtestbench

HeyGen vs Topview

By Alexandre S. Published Last checked What changed

Verdict: HeyGen or Topview

For a presenter or translated ad at a published cost per second, HeyGen; for product-link clips with generated scenes, Topview. A 30-second avatar ad costs $0.10 to $1.16 on HeyGen Creator if every credit is used (checked ), and Topview publishes no avatar rate.

The catch: Topview credits never roll over and refunds end after 3 days or one credit spent.

HeyGen

Best for
Localising one ad script into many languages, cheap avatar minutes for talking-head ads, and founder or spokesperson clones on a paid plan.
Not for
Anyone planning to run ads made on the free plan, which the terms forbid, and advertisers of alcohol, online gambling or weapons, which the moderation policy bans.
Visit HeyGen From $29 a month · checked

Topview

Best for
Teams that want product-link-to-video, product avatars and cheap generative clips under one subscription, especially on annual billing.
Not for
Free users who want to run ads, which the terms forbid; pharma and medical-device advertisers, who need prior written approval; and anyone who needs a published avatar credit rate.
Visit Topview From $18 a month · checked
HeyGen and Topview on avatar rates and ad terms. Prices read on the vendors’ own pages on 2 Oct 2026.
HeyGenTopview
Monthly from (USD) $29$18
Cost per output at list price $0.10 to $1.16 per 30-second video if every credit is used; pro rata ($0.19 if billed by the whole minute)Not computed
Avatar credit rate Published per model, 4 to 48 credits a minuteNot published (Avatar 4, up to 180 seconds)
Seedance clip rate Seedance 2.0: 60 credits a 720p clip, any lengthSeedance 2.5: 6 credits per 4 seconds at 720p
Free plan output in ads Barred from “advertising” (s.4)No free plan shown; terms bar Free Users from ads
Stock avatars in ads Yes on paid plans, with conditionsUnclear: no clause covers the library
Translation languages 175+ on paid plansNot published
Unused credits Roll over one month on monthly plansReset each month, or each year on annual plans
Refunds “non-refundable, except where required by law”Within 3 days, only if credits are unused
“Unlimited” generation Credit-based plansRelaxed queue: 33 of 73 user sources report hours to days per clip
Training on your content Licensed on paid plans (s.3)By default, with an email opt-out

Which costs less for a 30-second ad?

For a talking avatar, only HeyGen prices it. For a Seedance clip, HeyGen’s flat rate costs less than 30 seconds of Topview at the plans below, though the two are different model versions.

HeyGen’s credits article charges 4 to 48 credits a minute by avatar model. It charges 60 credits for a 720p Seedance 2.0 video “regardless of length” (read 2 October 2026). It states no maximum clip length. HeyGen’s pricing page names “the Seedance 2.0 engine” on Pro, so the table prices it there.

Topview’s pricing page charges Seedance 2.5 at 720p 6 credits per 4 seconds and gives no avatar rate.

One ad or clip at list price, if every credit is used. HeyGen bills Seedance 2.0 per clip; Topview bills Seedance 2.5 per 4 seconds, so 30 seconds bills as 32.
Plan and output List price (USD a month) 4 seconds 30 seconds 30 seconds, pro rata
HeyGen Creator Avatar III to Avatar V $29 Not applicable $0.19 to $2.32 $0.10 to $1.16
HeyGen Pro Seedance 2.0, 720p, one clip $49 $2.94 Not stated Not stated
Topview Plus Seedance 2.5, 720p $36 $2.16 $17.28 $16.20
Topview Avatar 4 Any plan Not published Not published Not published

Scroll sideways for all 5 columns

Method: plan price divided by plan credits, times the credits each vendor states. The whole-minute column bills a started minute in full. Topview’s Plus card gives 100 credits a month, so a 30-second Seedance 2.5 clip uses nearly half of them.

Annual plans cut Topview’s price per credit. Every HeyGen plan and model: HeyGen pricing; against other tools, the price tracker for HeyGen and Topview; your own volumes: the cost per AI ad calculator.

Making an ad from a product page

Topview sells product-link-to-video and product avatars; HeyGen sells presenters and a script-led Video Agent.

Topview takes a product link and returns a video with generated scenes, and offers product avatars. It runs Avatar 4 videos up to 180 seconds and resells generative models at per-model rates, with 4 to 30 tasks at once by plan (pricing page).

HeyGen starts from a script: a stock avatar, a photo avatar or your digital twin reads it. Its Video Agent builds a video from a prompt at 40 credits a minute in Standard mode and 120 in Seedance mode (credits article).

Topview users report getting more Seedance video per dollar than on rival platforms (8 of 73 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).

Which reaches more languages with one ad?

HeyGen, which lists 175+ translation languages on paid plans; Topview’s pricing page gives no count.

HeyGen’s compare plans table lists “175 languages & dialects” on every paid plan and 30+ on Free. Lip-synced translation costs 6 credits a minute in Speed mode, so 30 seconds on Creator comes to $0.15 pro rata if every credit is used.

Users back it: translation and dubbing localise one video into many languages (6 of 39 sources: YouTube, G2).

What each plan lets you run in paid ads

Not legal advice This section quotes HeyGen’s and Topview’s documents with their dates and reads them as an ad buyer would. Ask a lawyer before you rely on any reading here.

HeyGen’s paid plans allow stock-avatar ads with conditions. Topview allows lawful use on its paid plans, but no clause covers its avatar library.

HeyGen’s terms (23 July 2026) leave Creator, Pro and Business output free for “commercial purposes” (s.3) and bar Free output from “advertising” (s.4). Its stock avatars page answers “Yes, on eligible paid plans”.

The yes has conditions. Section 2 bars “representing that the User Output is entirely human generated” and requires AI disclosure where law demands it. The moderation policy (3.1) bars promoting weapons, alcohol, online gambling and commercial sex.

Topview’s pricing page shows no free plan, yet its terms (9 September 2026) bar Free Users from “any commercial purpose, including for advertising” (Prohibited Uses). Ads for pharmaceuticals, medical devices, medical services or politics need Topview’s prior written approval (Prohibited Content).

Neither the terms nor the pricing page set a rule for Topview’s public avatars in ads, so their status is unclear. Your own or another person’s face needs explicit, documented written consent, and Topview may ask for proof at any time (Digital Human and Avatar Likeness Consent).

Plan by plan: HeyGen and Topview in the AI commercial use matrix; US rules in are AI UGC ads legal.

What each keeps of your content

Both licence your content for model training; only Topview names an opt-out, and only Topview states it keeps everything permanently after the account closes.

HeyGen’s s.3 licence on paid plans covers using your content “to train or otherwise improve or modify our artificial intelligence and machine learning models”. On any termination, HeyGen “may, but is not obligated to, delete any of Your Content” (s.5).

Topview’s terms (9 September 2026) train on “Your Content and Output” by default and stop future use when you email support@topview.ai (How We Use Content to Improve Our Models).

Items you delete leave production systems within 30 days and backups within 90. After an account closes, everything you made is “retained internally on a permanent basis” (Account Closure and Deletion).

Enterprise is the exception on Topview: its card lists no training on your data.

Topview queues and HeyGen credit rises lead the complaints

Topview’s reviews centre on its queue, HeyGen’s on credit costs; each count is within that tool’s own sources.

On Topview, 73 public sources from June 2025 to September 2026:

  • “Unlimited” annual plans queue each clip for hours to days, nearly all reports since July 2026 (33 of 73 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
  • Wrong or inconsistent outputs still cost credits (14 of 73 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
A creator screen-records a Topview support chat that puts one unlimited Seedance 2.5 video at around 10 hours or more than a day Video: Is TopView AI’s Unlimited Seedance 2.5 (60-days) Plan worth subscribing? Honest Proof [SEP 1, 2026], SmartUps on YouTube, .

On HeyGen, 39 public sources from October 2025 to September 2026:

  • Every fix or regeneration costs credits (8 of 39 sources: App Store, Trustpilot)
  • Per-minute credit costs rose in August and September 2026 without notice (7 of 39 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)

On Trustpilot, Topview shows 3.9 from 270 reviews (read 2 October 2026) and HeyGen 4.0 from 3,835 (read 28 September 2026). HeyGen holds 4.8 from 1,967 on G2 (archived 31 August 2026). Full samples: the HeyGen profile and the Topview profile.

If neither fits

For avatar ads with an ad launcher in the same tool, Creatify bills 5 credits per 15 seconds, rounded up. For product-link videos posted straight to TikTok, Pippit schedules them from the same app.

Every replacement by job: HeyGen alternatives. Other match-ups: HeyGen vs invideo AI, Higgsfield vs Topview and Creatify vs Topview.

Questions buyers ask about HeyGen and Topview

Does Topview have a free plan for ads?

Its pricing page shows none, and its terms bar Free Users from “any commercial purpose, including for advertising”.

Can I use HeyGen stock avatars in ads?

Yes, on Creator, Pro and Business, with AI disclosure where law requires and the moderation policy’s category bans.

Do unused credits carry over on either?

HeyGen’s roll over one month on monthly plans. Topview’s reset monthly, or yearly on annual plans.

Sources

  1. HeyGen: HeyGen pricing, plan cards, the compare plans table (175 translation languages on paid plans, the Seedance 2.0 engine on Pro) and the FAQ on rollover and cancelling. Checked
  2. HeyGen help centre: How to use credits on HeyGen, credits a minute by avatar model, translation rates, and Seedance 2.0 at 60 credits a 720p video regardless of length, with no maximum length stated; re-read on 2 October 2026. Checked
  3. HeyGen: HeyGen Terms of Service, last updated 23 July 2026; sections 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7(d). Checked
  4. HeyGen: HeyGen Content Moderation Policy, effective 25 July 2024; 2.1 consent and removal requests, 3.1 restricted goods and services. Checked
  5. HeyGen: HeyGen stock avatars, the FAQ answer on ads on eligible paid plans. Checked
  6. Topview: Topview pricing, Basic to Team plans, per-model credit rates (Seedance 2.5 at 720p per 4 seconds), the unlimited rules and the credit FAQ; no avatar rate; re-read on 2 October 2026. Checked
  7. Topview: Topview Terms of Service, 9 September 2026; Your Content and Ownership, Prohibited Uses, Digital Human and Avatar Likeness Consent, How We Use Content to Improve Our Models, and retention. Checked

What changed on this page

  • Verdict shortened to three sentences; queue finding added to the table; Topview terms cited by section.
  • Page written.

Alexandre S.

Alexandre S. is a creative strategist and copywriter with ten years in content and SEO. He writes and edits short-form ads, works in English and French, and reads the pricing and terms pages behind every tool on this site before anything is written about it.