beehiiv vs Substack
Verdict: beehiiv or Substack
Substack suits a free newsletter grown through its reader network; beehiiv costs less once paid revenue passes ten times the Lite price, because Substack keeps 10%. At 10,000 subscribers that line sits at $1,390 a month of paid revenue (checked ). Neither one’s terms rule out training AI on your posts; only beehiiv lists a no-training option, on Enterprise.
beehiiv
- Best for
- Newsletter publishers who want a site, paid subscriptions and the ad network in one tool, with under 2,500 subscribers or ready to pay Lite prices.
- Not for
- Buyers who need automations or a custom domain free (both start at Lite), a flat price as the list grows (Lite at 50,000 is $299 a month), or AI content farms, which are banned.
Substack
- Best for
- Writers wanting readers to find them in Substack’s network and earning from paid subscriptions, so the 10% fee applies only when money comes in.
- Not for
- Marketers who need automations, segmentation or per-contact pricing control, and publishers who worry about account suspension: several Trustpilot reviewers report suspensions with no explanation.
| beehiiv | Substack | |
|---|---|---|
| Where they differ | ||
| Monthly from (USD) | $59 | Free |
| How you pay | Monthly plan by subscriber bucket | No plan: a share of paid revenue |
| Cut of paid subscriptions | 0% on Lite and Pro, plus Stripe’s 2.9% and 30 cents | 10%, plus Stripe card fees |
| Free plan ceiling | 2,500 subscribers, no paid subscriptions | No subscriber cap stated |
| AI writing in the editor | From Lite | No named feature or plan |
| Trains AI on your content | Terms silent; no-training option on Enterprise | Terms silent; AI run by third-party providers |
| Own domain and automations | From Lite | Not named |
| The same on both | ||
| Free plan | Both: Yes | |
What do beehiiv and Substack cost at your list size?
A free newsletter costs nothing on Substack at any list size (going paid). The free plan at beehiiv stops at 2,500 subscribers. Past that it bills by bucket: the more addresses on your list, the higher the monthly plan (beehiiv pricing).
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | $0 Free | $0 Free | $139 Lite | $299 Lite | Free: up to 2,500 contactsUnlimited email sends, 1 seat, 1 publication, website, podcast, community, 30-day analytics, limited AI usage. No custom domain, automations, A/B testing or beehiiv AI in the editor; beehiiv branding stays. | beehiiv.com/pricing | |
| Substack | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | Free planNo subscriber cap or send limit found on the pages read. Free newsletters pay nothing; the 10% fee applies only to paid subscription revenue. | substack.com/going-paid |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
The catch on beehiiv Free is money. Its plan table lists paid subscriptions from Lite, which starts at $59 a month for up to 1,000 subscribers, checked (beehiiv pricing data). Free also leaves out a custom domain and automations.
Substack has no plan to buy. It “takes 10% of paid subscription revenue, plus Stripe card fees” (going paid). So a free list of 50,000 costs you nothing on Substack and $299 a month on beehiiv Lite.
How much can you make on Substack?
The fee Substack is free to start and takes 10% of paid subscription revenue, plus Stripe card fees.
Writers keep Writers keep 90% of their revenue minus credit card fees.
Every list size for all 15 tools sits in the email price table.
When does Substack’s 10% cost more than beehiiv Lite?
Once your monthly paid revenue passes ten times the Lite price for your list size. On Lite, beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscriptions (pricing data). Its cost stays flat while Substack’s share grows with every subscriber who pays.
| Subscribers | beehiiv Lite, monthly billing | Lite, yearly billing | Substack costs more above |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 1,000 | $59 | $49 | $590 |
| Up to 10,000 | $139 | $119 | $1,390 |
| Up to 50,000 | $299 | $249 | $2,990 |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
The last column uses monthly billing. Card fees sit on top on both platforms and are left out. The beehiiv FAQ publishes Stripe’s 2.9% plus 30 cents a transaction; the Substack page names Stripe fees without a rate.
Two clauses move the line. The free trial of Lite excludes the 0% take rate, so the saving starts on a paid month (pricing data). And a list rounds up to the next bucket, so 10,001 subscribers price at the 25,000 step. The beehiiv pricing page has every bucket.
Which AI features come with each?
The AI at beehiiv is listed by plan; Substack names none. beehiiv AI, the writing help inside its editor, starts on Lite. Free gets “limited” AI usage without it (pricing data).
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | Email writing beehiiv AI (in-editor) | Lite | AI usage included: Limited on Free, Elevated on Lite, 5x Lite on Pro, custom on Enterprise. Credit amounts not published. | |
| beehiiv | AI agent beehiiv Agent and MCP | Free (read) / Lite (write) | Read access on every plan; write access from Lite. The MCP also serves a get_pricing tool. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI website builder | Free | Listed in the Free plan’s included features. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI podcast newsletter | Pro | Turns podcast episodes into a newsletter; Pro and Enterprise only. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI bot control | Pro | Controls AI crawler access to the publication’s site; not a writing feature. | |
| Substack | Other Generative AI tools (images or text from prompts) | Not stated | The terms say Substack may offersuch tools; no named writing or subject line feature, plan or limit was found on the going-paid page or the terms. Not verified as a live feature. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
It also connects to AI assistants such as Claude or ChatGPT through an MCP server. That is a standard way for an assistant to read and act on your account. Free gets read access and Lite adds write access. An AI tool that turns podcast episodes into newsletters is on Pro.
Substack’s terms say it “may offer” generative AI tools and that third-party providers run them (terms, 6 October 2026). Neither the going-paid page nor the terms names a feature, a plan or a limit.
Both police AI-written publications. beehiiv’s acceptable use policy bars “publications that rely entirely on AI-generated material without meaningful human input”. Substack’s terms let it apply AI-detection labels to content.
Does beehiiv or Substack train AI on your posts?
Neither document says so either way. That gap matters if your archive or your subscriber list is the business.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | The terms do not say | The terms of use (6 Oct 2026), privacy policy and DPA (16 Jul 2026) contain no statement on training AI models with customer content. The only controls are section 3, which lets beehiiv compile anonymised Aggregated Statistics from your Content, and the pricing page, which lists No-training / zero-retentionas an Enterprise-only feature. Opt out: Not stated; the no-training and zero-retention option appears only in the Enterprise column of the feature table. | beehiiv may compile Aggregated Statistics based on your ContentTerms of Use section 3 (Aggregated Statistics); DPA heading Confidentiality and Trainingholds only a staff confidentiality clause (19) | Dated 6 Oct 2026 |
| Substack | The terms do not say | Neither the terms of use (6 Oct 2026) nor the privacy notice (14 May 2026) says Substack trains AI models on posts or subscriber data. The terms say AI services are run by third-party providers whose own sub-processors may handle data, and the content licence includes the right to improveSubstack. | Our AI services are facilitated by third-party service providers, together with those vendors' own subprocessors and service providers. Our Privacy Notice applies to all AI services and speaks to how we and our service providers may access and use related dataTerms of Use, Artificial Intelligence Services on Substack; Privacy Policy, third-party providers of generative AI services | Dated 6 Oct 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
beehiiv’s terms, modified 6 October 2026, never mention training. Section 3 lets beehiiv compile anonymised Aggregated Statistics from your Content. Its pricing table lists “No-training / zero-retention” in the Enterprise column only.
Terms of Use, 3 (Aggregated Statistics)
You acknowledge that beehiiv may compile Aggregated Statistics based on your Content (as defined below). You agree that beehiiv may: (i) make Aggregated Statistics publicly available in compliance with applicable law; and (ii) use Aggregated Statistics to the extent and in the manner permitted under applicable law; provided, that such Aggregated Statistics do not identify you or Your Users.
Substack’s licence lets it reproduce your posts “to enable us to provide, improve, and notify you about new features within Substack”. Its AI section says data goes to “third-party service providers, together with those vendors’ own subprocessors”. The privacy notice does not name them.
Terms of Use, Limited License to Us
You hereby grant Substack a license to translate, modify, reproduce, and otherwise act with respect to your Posts to enable us to provide, improve, and notify you about new features within Substack.
How the other 13 email tools answer: does your email tool train AI.
How do you move a newsletter from Substack to beehiiv?
beehiiv’s migration guide, updated 22 June 2026, splits the move into three imports.
- Free posts come in from your Substack URL. Paid posts need the export zip from Substack’s settings, and a paid tier set up in beehiiv first, or paywalled posts import fully visible.
- Free subscribers move as a CSV exported from Substack.
- Paid subscribers move through Stripe. You transfer customers from the Stripe account linked to Substack, map each price to a beehiiv tier, then pause Substack billing “to prevent double billing”.
Some things stay behind. Video and podcast-type posts do not migrate, nor do comments or photo galleries, and subscription dates reset to the import day unless support restores them. Comped, gifted and iOS subscribers are not in Stripe, so you grant them access by hand.
Easy editing on beehiiv; unwanted sign-ups lead Substack’s complaints
We read 19 public sources on each, from Trustpilot and Reddit. They date from 18 May to 28 October 2026. beehiiv scores 3.9 on Trustpilot from 413 reviews. Substack scores 1.4 from 185, and the page mixes reviews from readers and from publishers.
On beehiiv:
- An editor beginners use without technical skill (6 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Recommendations bring steady subscriber growth once set up (3 of 19 sources: Reddit)
- Price rises, some soon after joining (3 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Ad network pay is hard to estimate (3 of 19 sources: Reddit, Reddit)
- Unwanted emails from newsletters hosted on beehiiv, with unsubscribe requests said to be ignored; both reviewers describe publishers’ lists (2 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Editor and mobile app clunky or freezing on pasted content (3 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
On Substack:
- People signed up without consent, with unsubscribing hard to find (5 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Harassment and harmful content handled poorly, in reviewers’ view (4 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Restacks and recommendations reach readers outside your own list (3 of 19 sources: Reddit, Trustpilot)
- Billing and cancellation faults (3 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Publications suspended without a clear reason, with weak appeals (3 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
A suspension stops a paid newsletter overnight. Substack’s terms let it suspend accounts and limit its liability for those decisions, so keep your own subscriber export current.
Which one fits your newsletter?
Stay on Substack if most of your readers find you inside its app and paid revenue sits under the line in the table above. You pay nothing until money comes in, and the network does the discovery. Other hosts for that kind of newsletter sit on the best newsletter platforms.
Move to beehiiv once paid revenue clears that line, or when you need your own domain and automations. The beehiiv profile covers its limits in full.
Writers weighing a creator tool can read beehiiv vs Kit; those leaving a marketing platform, beehiiv vs Mailchimp. The full field is on the best newsletter platforms, and every tool we track sits on the AI email marketing hub.
Questions buyers ask about beehiiv and Substack
Is beehiiv cheaper than Substack?
For a free newsletter, no: Substack charges nothing at any size, and beehiiv bills from 2,501 subscribers (beehiiv pricing). With paid subscribers, beehiiv Lite costs less once Substack’s 10% passes the Lite price.
Does beehiiv take a cut of paid subscriptions?
No beehiiv cut on Lite and Pro: its take rate is 0%. Stripe’s 2.9% plus 30 cents a transaction still applies, and the 0% rate is not part of the free trial (beehiiv pricing data).
Can I move my paid subscribers from Substack to beehiiv?
Yes, through Stripe. You transfer customers from Substack’s Stripe account to the one linked to beehiiv, then pause Substack billing to avoid charging readers twice.
Does Substack use AI on my writing?
Its terms say AI services run through third-party providers and do not say whether posts train any model. Substack’s terms and going-paid page name no AI writing feature.
More email tool comparisons sit together in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- beehiiv: beehiiv pricing, Free, Lite and Pro prices by subscriber bucket, monthly and yearly. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv pricing data file, paid subscriptions from Lite, the 0% take rate and its trial exclusion, Stripe’s 2.9% plus 30 cents, AI usage by plan, the Enterprise no-training option. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Terms of Use, last modified 6 October 2026; section 3 on Aggregated Statistics and section 6 on your Content. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Acceptable Use Policy, 16 July 2026; publications built entirely on AI-generated material. Checked
- beehiiv: How to migrate from Substack to beehiiv, updated 22 June 2026; content import, subscriber CSV, the Stripe transfer for paid subscribers and what does not move. Checked
- Substack: Going paid on Substack, 10% of paid subscription revenue plus Stripe card fees. Checked
- Substack: Substack Terms of Use, updated 6 October 2026; the licence to operate Substack and the section on AI services. Checked
- Substack: Substack Privacy Notice, 14 May 2026; generative AI services among third-party providers. Checked
- Trustpilot: beehiiv on Trustpilot, 3.9 from 413 reviews; recent reviews read, 18 May to 25 October 2026. Checked
- Trustpilot: Substack on Trustpilot, 1.4 from 185 reviews; recent reviews read, 18 May to 28 October 2026. Checked