beehiiv: price at your list size, AI features and terms
Verdict on beehiiv
beehiiv suits a newsletter that earns from paid subscriptions or sponsors, because Lite takes 0% of subscription revenue. Free covers 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends (pricing, checked ). At 2,501 subscribers the bill jumps from nothing to $109 a month, and 3 of 19 reviews report price rises.
beehiiv
- Best for
- Newsletter publishers who want a site, paid subscriptions and the ad network in one tool, with under 2,500 subscribers or ready to pay Lite prices.
- Not for
- Buyers who need automations or a custom domain free (both start at Lite), a flat price as the list grows (Lite at 50,000 is $299 a month), or AI content farms, which are banned.
| Made by | beehiiv Inc. |
|---|---|
| Category | Email marketing |
| Makes | Email newsletters and posts; websites and landing pages; podcast hosting; paid subscriptions and digital products; community spaces |
| Entry price | From $59 a month |
| Cost per output | Not computed: no plan states a quantity |
| Use in ads | Terms of Use last modified 6 October 2026, section 6 (Your Content): you own what you createand beehiiv makes no claim to own it, with a worldwide licence to use, publish, translate, distribute and make derivative works of published Content for the Services, including promotion. The terms do not mention AI or training on content. Section 3 gives beehiiv ownership of anonymised Aggregated Statistics, which may be compiled from your Content. Acceptable Use Policy (16 July 2026): AI-assisted writing is allowed, but publications that rely entirely on AI-generated material without meaningful human input are not permitted. Terms |
| Free plan | Yes. Paid ads on the free plan: Unclear |
| Free trial | Free is free forever with no card; Lite and Pro include a free trial with no card needed. Several features are excluded from the trial (ad network, recommendations, 0% take rate, teams, Pro branding removal) per pricing.md, 2026-11-01. |
| Languages | Not stated on the pages read |
| API | Yes |
| Status | Active |
What beehiiv is
beehiiv is a newsletter platform: you write an issue, it emails your subscribers and publishes the same post on a website it hosts for you. A podcast host, a community space and digital product sales sit in the same account.
It is built for writers who want the newsletter to pay. Paid subscriptions, a sponsor marketplace (the Ad Network) and recommendations from other newsletters all start on Lite (pricing page). Sends never cost extra: the pricing FAQ says every plan includes “unlimited email sends”.
That makes beehiiv the opposite of the shop-focused tools in our AI email marketing section. There is no product catalogue sync and no abandoned-cart flow among its features.
What beehiiv costs at your list size
beehiiv prices only by subscribers, counted in buckets: up to 1,000, up to 2,500, up to 5,000 and so on. Your bill is the bucket at or above your list (pricing FAQ).
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | $0 Free | $0 Free | $139 Lite | $299 Lite | Free: up to 2,500 contactsUnlimited email sends, 1 seat, 1 publication, website, podcast, community, 30-day analytics, limited AI usage. No custom domain, automations, A/B testing or beehiiv AI in the editor; beehiiv branding stays. | beehiiv.com/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
The cheapest plan that fits stays Free until 2,500 subscribers. Past that, Lite costs $139 a month at 10,000 and $299 at 50,000 (tier table).
The price per reader falls fast as you grow. Lite works out at $13.90 per 1,000 subscribers at 10,000, and $5.98 at 50,000.
The beehiiv pricing page lists every bucket for Lite and Pro, the yearly saving and what pushes you from one plan to the next.
Which beehiiv plan has the AI features
beehiiv AI, the writing assistant inside the editor, starts on Lite. Free gets “Limited” AI usage and no in-editor assistant. Lite gets “Elevated” usage and Pro “5x Lite”, and the pricing page publishes no credit figure behind either word.
Inside the editor, beehiiv’s AI features page lists six tools: a writing assistant, spell check, a smart editor, tone changes, translation and image creation.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | Email writing beehiiv AI (in-editor) | Lite | AI usage included: Limited on Free, Elevated on Lite, 5x Lite on Pro, custom on Enterprise. Credit amounts not published. | |
| beehiiv | AI agent beehiiv Agent and MCP | Free (read) / Lite (write) | Read access on every plan; write access from Lite. The MCP also serves a get_pricing tool. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI website builder | Free | Listed in the Free plan’s included features. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI podcast newsletter | Pro | Turns podcast episodes into a newsletter; Pro and Enterprise only. | |
| beehiiv | Other AI bot control | Pro | Controls AI crawler access to the publication’s site; not a writing feature. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
An AI website builder is on Free, and turning podcast episodes into a newsletter is Pro only.
A read-only connection for AI assistants (beehiiv’s MCP server and its in-product Agent) is on every plan; write access starts on Lite. One reviewer likes using it with Claude (1 of 19: Trustpilot).
The house rules limit what the AI may write. The Acceptable Use Policy (16 July 2026) allows AI-assisted writing and adds: “Publications that rely entirely on AI-generated material without meaningful human input are not permitted.” So an automated newsletter run without an editor breaks the policy on any plan.
Does beehiiv train AI on your newsletter?
The terms do not say. The Terms of Use (6 October 2026) contain no clause on training AI models with your list or your posts. Neither does the privacy policy, and the data processing addendum’s heading “Confidentiality and Training” holds only a staff confidentiality clause (section 19).
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | The terms do not say | The terms of use (6 Oct 2026), privacy policy and DPA (16 Jul 2026) contain no statement on training AI models with customer content. The only controls are section 3, which lets beehiiv compile anonymised Aggregated Statistics from your Content, and the pricing page, which lists No-training / zero-retentionas an Enterprise-only feature. Opt out: Not stated; the no-training and zero-retention option appears only in the Enterprise column of the feature table. | beehiiv may compile Aggregated Statistics based on your ContentTerms of Use section 3 (Aggregated Statistics); DPA heading Confidentiality and Trainingholds only a staff confidentiality clause (19) | Dated 6 Oct 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Two documents come close. Section 3 of the terms lets beehiiv “compile Aggregated Statistics based on your Content”, anonymised, and keep ownership of them. The pricing table lists “No-training / zero-retention” and “BYO model key” in the Enterprise column only.
Terms of Use, 3 (Aggregated Statistics)
You acknowledge that beehiiv may compile Aggregated Statistics based on your Content (as defined below). You agree that beehiiv may: (i) make Aggregated Statistics publicly available in compliance with applicable law; and (ii) use Aggregated Statistics to the extent and in the manner permitted under applicable law; provided, that such Aggregated Statistics do not identify you or Your Users.
That matters if your list or drafts are sensitive. The only written no-training promise sits on a plan sold through sales. Does your email tool train AI? sets beehiiv’s clause beside 14 other tools.
How beehiiv counts subscribers and sends
The pricing FAQ counts unique email addresses subscribed to your publication. A reader who stopped opening months ago but never unsubscribed still fills a place in your bucket. Whether unsubscribed or bounced addresses count is not stated.
That is the trap one Reddit thread is about: inactive “ghost” subscribers pushing a list into a dearer bucket (1 of 19: r/Newsletters). A reply in the same thread points out that a segment plus an automation can remove them. Automations start on Lite.
On deliverability, every plan lists “Optimized Deliverability” and unlimited sends. Dedicated IP addresses, a sending address used only by you, are Enterprise only.
Kit is free below 10,000; beehiiv Lite costs less at 50,000
The three newsletter tools split on how they charge. Kit’s free plan covers lists under 10,000 subscribers (Kit help centre). Substack charges nothing to send and keeps 10% of paid subscriptions instead (Substack).
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | $0 Free | $0 Free | $139 Lite | $299 Lite | Free: up to 2,500 contactsUnlimited email sends, 1 seat, 1 publication, website, podcast, community, 30-day analytics, limited AI usage. No custom domain, automations, A/B testing or beehiiv AI in the editor; beehiiv branding stays. | beehiiv.com/pricing | |
| Kit | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | $379 Creator | Free: up to 10,000 contactsUnlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, tagging, segmentation, A/B testing of broadcasts, API access, digital products. No visual automations, sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI Connectors or paid apps. Wording is under 10,000in one sentence and up to 10,000in another (help centre, 2026-09-23). | kit.com/pricing | |
| Substack | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | $0 Free newsletter | Free planNo subscriber cap or send limit found on the pages read. Free newsletters pay nothing; the 10% fee applies only to paid subscription revenue. | substack.com/going-paid |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
At 50,000 subscribers beehiiv Lite costs less than Kit’s Creator plan. Between 2,501 and 9,999, Kit Free costs nothing and beehiiv bills Lite.
beehiiv vs Kit compares the two plan by plan, and beehiiv vs Substack works out where Substack’s 10% passes a flat plan.
Coming from a general email tool? beehiiv vs Mailchimp covers that move, and the newsletter platforms list ranks five options by fee and list-size price.
Who should skip beehiiv
- Best for
- Newsletter publishers who want a site, paid subscriptions and the ad network in one tool, with under 2,500 subscribers or ready to pay Lite prices.
- Skip it if
- your free list sits between 2,501 and 9,999 subscribers and earns nothing yet: Kit Free still covers it, while beehiiv bills Lite.
Skip it as a shop’s email tool too. Product feeds and cart reminders are missing from the pricing page’s feature list; email marketing for ecommerce covers the tools built for that.
beehiiv pros and cons
Pros
- 0% of paid subscription revenue taken from Lite; Stripe’s fee still applies (FAQ)
- Unlimited sends on every plan, Free included (FAQ)
- Simple editor that beginners use without technical skill (6 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Recommendations bring steady subscriber growth once set up (1 of 19: an r/Newsletters thread where three users say so)
- Quick onboarding help from staff (2 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
Cons
- Prices rose, in one case a month after joining (3 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Editor and mobile app feel clunky or freeze on pasted text (3 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- List-health data and Ad Network pay are hard to read (2 of 19: r/Newsletters, r/Newsletters)
- A free-plan limit changed without notice (1 of 19: Trustpilot)
Two more complaints come from people who never signed up. They received newsletters hosted on beehiiv and say their unsubscribe requests were ignored (2 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Both describe a publisher’s list, so they say more about those senders than about beehiiv’s service.
Questions buyers ask about beehiiv
Is beehiiv free?
Yes, up to 2,500 subscribers, with unlimited sends and no card (pricing FAQ). Automations, A/B tests and the in-editor AI need Lite.
Does beehiiv take a cut of paid subscriptions?
No. The pricing FAQ says beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscription and digital product revenue; Stripe’s own processing fee still comes off each payment.
Can I write a beehiiv newsletter with AI?
Yes, with a human in charge. The Acceptable Use Policy allows AI-assisted writing and bars publications that rely entirely on AI output.
What do beehiiv reviews say?
Of 19 public reviews read, 6 praise the simple editor and 3 report price rises. Three find the editor or app clunky, two of them the same reviewers who report the price rises.
Where are all the beehiiv prices?
The beehiiv pricing page has every bucket from 1,000 to 250,000 subscribers, and the email marketing price finder prices your own list across 15 tools.
Every email tool, with its price at your list size, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- beehiiv: beehiiv pricing, the plan cards, the subscriber slider and the pricing FAQ on counting subscribers, sends, the free trial and yearly billing. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv pricing (Markdown edition), the tier table by subscriber bucket and the feature comparison, including AI usage, MCP access and the Enterprise security rows. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Terms of Use, last modified 6 October 2026; section 3 on Aggregated Statistics, section 6 on your content. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Acceptable Use Policy, 16 July 2026; the section on the use of AI. Checked
- beehiiv: beehiiv Data Processing Addendum, 16 July 2026; its
Confidentiality and Training
heading holds only a staff confidentiality clause (section 19). Checked - beehiiv: beehiiv Privacy Policy, no clause on training AI models with customer content. Checked
- Trustpilot: beehiiv reviews on Trustpilot, the 20 most recent reviews read; 16 of them and three r/Newsletters threads are the 19 sources behind the pros and cons. Checked