Kit (formerly ConvertKit) vs MailerLite
Verdict: Kit or MailerLite
MailerLite if you need automations at the lower bill; Kit if you send free broadcasts to under 10,000 subscribers. At 10,000 subscribers, automations cost $89 a month on MailerLite Comfort and $139 on Kit Creator, checked . MailerLite’s terms (17.3) license your AI inputs and outputs to improve AI models; Kit says it trains no AI on Kit data.
Kit
- Best for
- Newsletter writers under 10,000 subscribers who send broadcasts without automations and want a free plan that holds the whole list.
- Skip it if
- you need welcome sequences or automations. They start on Creator, which costs more than MailerLite Comfort at every list size we price.
MailerLite
- Best for
- Small businesses that need automations and an AI writing assistant from 500 subscribers, at the lower monthly bill of the two.
- Skip it if
- you want a free plan past 250 subscribers or AI drafts kept out of model training. Terms clause 17.3 licenses your AI inputs and outputs for that.
| Kit | MailerLite | |
|---|---|---|
| Where they differ | ||
| Monthly from (USD) | $39 | $12 |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial on Creator and Pro, no card required (pricing page capture 2026-10-30; help centre article dated 2026-09-23). | The pricing page says the paid plans have a 14-day free trial with no credit card required (read 2026-11-01). |
| Free plan holds | Up to 10,000 subscribers, no automations | 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, 3 automations |
| Who counts towards the bill | Confirmed subscribers; unsubscribed and bounced not stated | Active subscribers; unsubscribed and bounced excluded |
| Tier changes | Up automatically; down on request, from the next billing date | Count resets on each billing anniversary |
| AI writing | Subject line generator, plan not stated | AI writing assistant from Comfort |
| AI training | None on Kit data, per the AI Connectors FAQ | AI inputs and outputs licensed, terms 17.3 |
| Fee on paid newsletters | 3.5% plus 30 cents a sale | 0% to MailerLite, Stripe fees apply |
| Migration help | Included with every paid plan | Self-serve CSV import |
| The same on both | ||
| Free plan | Both: Yes | |
Which costs less at your list size?
Kit costs nothing up to 10,000 subscribers, as long as you can live without automations. MailerLite’s free plan stops at 250, so a list of 500 already pays.
Both tools bill by list size and ignore how many emails you send, within limits. The table shows the monthly price at four list sizes, on each tool’s cheapest plan for that size.
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | $379 Creator | Free: up to 10,000 contactsUnlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, tagging, segmentation, A/B testing of broadcasts, API access, digital products. No visual automations, sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI Connectors or paid apps. Wording is under 10,000in one sentence and up to 10,000in another (help centre, 2026-09-23). | kit.com/pricing | |
| MailerLite | $12 Comfort | $33 Comfort | $89 Comfort | $319 Comfort | Free: up to 250 contacts, 2,500 emails a month250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, 2 seats, 1 website, 1 landing page, 3 forms, 3 automations, MailerLite logo, knowledge base support only. Subject line generator limited, AI landing page builder once, no AI writing assistant. | mailerlite.com/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
The free column is Kit’s strongest card. Free covers unlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages (Kit Free plan). It leaves out automations (visual automations and sequences) and the AI Connectors.
The Kit Free plan
Price The Free plan costs $0 per month for as long as you stay under 10,000 subscribers.
Not on Free Visual automations and the automation template library, email sequences, rules and RSS campaigns, AI Connectors, and paid apps in the Kit App Store.
MailerLite’s Free plan works differently. It holds 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month, and sending locks once active subscribers pass 250 (MailerLite pricing FAQ).
What automations cost on each, list by list
An automation is an email series that sends itself: a welcome sequence, a course drip, a follow-up after someone buys. The moment you need one, the comparison flips.
Kit’s automations start on Creator. MailerLite’s start on Comfort, which costs less at every list size below.
| List size | Kit Creator | MailerLite Comfort |
|---|---|---|
| 500 | $39 (billed at the 1,000 step) | $12 |
| 2,500 | $59 (billed at the 3,000 step) | $33 |
| 10,000 | $139 | $89 |
| 50,000 | $379 (billed at the 55,000 step) | $319 |
Scroll sideways for all 3 columns
Kit’s slider jumps from 1,000 to 3,000 and from 45,000 to 55,000, so a list between steps pays for the step above (Kit pricing). MailerLite’s slider has a tier at each of the four sizes, so no list pays for a step above (MailerLite pricing).
Comfort has one cap Kit lacks. It allows 10 times the top of your subscriber tier in emails a month, so 25,000 emails at the 2,500 tier. Power lifts the cap and costs $25 a month at 500 subscribers, checked .
Yearly billing narrows the gap a little. Kit lists Creator at $33 a month billed yearly billed yearly at the 1,000 step (Kit pricing). MailerLite takes 10% off any monthly price.
Who counts towards the bill, and when the price drops
MailerLite counts active subscribers only. Unsubscribed and bounced addresses do not count, but an address active at any point in a billing cycle counts for that cycle (pricing FAQ).
How do you count subscribers?
Counting Billing is based on the number of active subscribers in your account. Subscribers who have unsubscribed or bounced don’t count. To keep things fair, we use a cumulative count within each billing cycle: this means any address that was active at any point during the cycle counts toward your limit, even if it’s deleted later.
Paid accounts When the number of active subscribers exceeds the current subscriber limit, the subscriber limit will automatically increase and your credit card will be charged for the next pricing tier.
Free accounts When the number of active subscribers exceeds the 250 active subscriber limit, sendings will be locked (campaigns + automation).
Kit bills by confirmed subscribers. Pass a tier’s limit and Kit moves you up automatically. Prune the list and the lower price waits for you to request “Switch to a lower tier”, which starts on your next billing date (Billing at Kit).
Kit’s billing article does not say whether unsubscribed or bounced contacts count. Clean the list before you cross a tier edge on either tool.
Which plan has the AI features?
MailerLite puts an AI writing assistant on Comfort. Kit’s main AI feature is AI Connectors, which lets an assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT work inside your account, from Creator up.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | Subject lines AI email writing tools (subject line generator and tester) | Not stated | kit.com/ai says subject lines are generated and tested in the broadcast editor. No plan and no usage limit stated on that page; lowest plan not verified. | |
| Kit | Other AI Connectors (Kit MCP) | Creator | 65+ tools let Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other clients read the account and act on it; Free can connect but not run tools; rate limit 120 requests a minute per connection. | |
| Kit | Other AI apps in the Kit App Store | Free apps on any plan; paid apps need Creator or Pro | Third-party apps (kit.com/ai names involve.me, Lex, Wordsmith, Ada) vary; some free, some subscriptions. Each app has its own data practices. | |
| MailerLite | Subject lines Subject line generator | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Free is marked Limited without a stated cap. | |
| MailerLite | Email writing AI writing assistant | Comfort | Not on Free. Runs on credits: Comfort has a limited amount, Power the most (help article, edited 16 June 2026). | |
| MailerLite | Send time Smart sending | Comfort | Not on Free. Also deliver by timezone on Comfort. | |
| MailerLite | AI agent MCP server (Claude, ChatGPT) | Free (limited); full on Comfort | Terms clause 17.2: connecting an agent authorises it to read and modify account data. | |
| MailerLite | Images AI landing page builder | Free (once); unlimited use on Comfort | The AI policy also lists an AI image generator (DALL-E 3); its plan was not stated. | |
| MailerLite | Other AI-powered A/B testing | Listed under HeyLite intelligence; plan not itemised | Named in the pricing page menu; the comparison table lists email A/B testing on all plans and multivariate testing on Comfort. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
The two sell different kinds of AI. MailerLite’s assistant drafts the email for you. Its Free plan gets a limited subject line generator and one use of the AI landing page builder (MailerLite pricing).
Kit’s AI Connectors is an MCP server. MCP is a standard that lets an outside AI assistant read your account and act on it. Kit lists 65+ tools for it (AI Connectors article). On Free the assistant connects, and every tool call returns an upgrade prompt.
Kit’s subject line generator sits in the broadcast editor, and the Kit AI page names no plan for it. MailerLite also has an MCP server: limited on Free, full from Comfort. Its terms (17.2) say connecting an agent authorises it to read and modify account data.
Does either train AI on what you give it?
MailerLite’s terms license your AI inputs and outputs to improve AI models; Kit says it trains no AI on Kit data.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | No | Kit’s help centre says Kit itself does not train any AI or LLM on Kit data, including email content and de-identified subscriber data. The statement is in the AI Connectors FAQ; the terms and privacy policy do not mention training, and a third-party AI client you connect applies its own settings. | Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider's own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.AI Connectors help article, Security and data FAQ (terms clause 8.2 licence to develop, maintain and improve the Servicesdoes not mention AI) | Dated 1 Oct 2026 |
| MailerLite | Yes | Terms clause 17.3 grants MailerLite a licence to use your AI Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models. The AI policy and privacy policy 3.6 say its partners OpenAI and Google do not train on your data under enterprise agreements. No opt-out was found. | You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models, and you agree to comply with any restrictions on AI usage.Terms of service 17.3 | Dated 22 Sep 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
MailerLite’s terms (22 September 2026) state: “You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models” (17.3). Inputs are what you type into its AI tools; Outputs are what they write back. Neither MailerLite’s terms nor its AI policy offers an opt-out.
Terms of service, 17.3
You grant MailerLite a license to use your Inputs and Outputs to improve AI models, and you agree to comply with any restrictions on AI usage.
Its AI policy adds that its partners, OpenAI and Google, do not train on your data under enterprise agreements. That covers the partners. Clause 17.3 covers MailerLite itself.
Kit’s help centre says: “Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data.” The line sits in the AI Connectors FAQ, dated 1 October 2026.
AI Connectors, security and data FAQ
Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider’s own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.
Kit’s terms do not mention AI, and clause 8.2 licenses your content “to develop, maintain and improve the Services”.
Connect an outside assistant to either tool and that provider’s own settings decide what trains its models. The AI-training guide sets both answers beside 13 other email tools.
What selling a paid newsletter costs
MailerLite takes nothing from paid subscriptions: it says it “takes 0% commission on your paid subscriptions” and that “Only Stripe fees apply” (MailerLite).
Kit charges 3.5% plus $0.30 per sale on every plan, Free included, and calls that “the only cost of selling through Kit” (Kit help centre). The article does not say whether Stripe’s processing fee sits inside that 3.5%.
So a free Kit account that sells still pays per sale. On 100 sales of $10 a month, Kit’s fee comes to $65, at the rate in Kit’s selling FAQ. Stripe’s own fee on MailerLite depends on your Stripe account, which MailerLite does not price.
Moving from one to the other
Kit does the move for you on a paid plan; MailerLite gives you a checklist.
Kit says “Migration is included with every paid Kit plan” (Kit migrations). Under 10,000 subscribers, the Essentials service moves subscribers, tags, lists and segments in 2 to 5 business days. From 10,000, Concierge also rebuilds forms, automation emails, templates and integrations.
MailerLite’s Kit migration guide is self-serve. You export a CSV from Kit and import it. Then you rebuild your forms and landing pages by hand, and recreate each Kit sequence as a MailerLite automation. It asks you to “Only bring over subscribers who have opted in to receive your emails.”
Kit users praise ease of use and object to price rises
We read 21 public reviews: 19 on Kit and 2 on MailerLite, too few for a MailerLite pattern.
Kit users praise how easy it is (6 of 19 Kit sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Slow support once billing goes wrong is the top complaint (5 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
Price rises as the list grows come next (4 of 19: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). One reviewer writes that “the price has increased nearly 3x”.
Where to go next
Every Kit tier is on Kit pricing, and every MailerLite tier on MailerLite pricing. The profiles cover each tool’s reviews and limits: Kit and MailerLite.
For a newsletter-first rival, beehiiv vs Kit prices the two at the same list sizes. Mailchimp vs MailerLite and Brevo vs MailerLite cover the other common switches. The AI email marketing hub routes every job to its page.
Questions buyers ask about Kit and MailerLite
Is ConvertKit the same as Kit?
Yes. ConvertKit now trades as Kit, at kit.com.
Is Kit or MailerLite free for longer?
Kit. Its Free plan holds up to 10,000 subscribers; MailerLite’s holds 250 and 2,500 emails a month.
Which is cheaper with automations?
MailerLite Comfort, at each of the four list sizes on this page. At 50,000 subscribers the gap is $60 a month.
Does MailerLite train AI on what I write with its AI tools?
Its terms (17.3) license the text you give its AI tools, and what they write, to improve AI models. Your list itself is not named in that clause.
Does Kit move my list from MailerLite for me?
Yes, on a paid plan: Kit says migration help is included with every paid Kit plan. On Free, you import the list yourself.
More email tool comparisons sit together in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- Kit: Kit pricing, the subscriber slider, Creator and Pro prices by tier, yearly billing. Checked
- Kit: Billing at Kit, billing by confirmed subscribers, the automatic move up a tier, the manual
Switch to a lower tier
. Checked - Kit: The Kit Free plan, what Free includes up to 10,000 subscribers and what it leaves out. Checked
- Kit: How to connect the Kit MCP to your AI tools, AI Connectors by plan and the Security and data FAQ on model training, dated 1 October 2026. Checked
- Kit: Kit AI, the subject line generator in the broadcast editor; no plan named. Checked
- Kit: Kit Terms of Service, last updated 5 September 2025; clause 8.2, the licence
to develop, maintain and improve the Services
. Checked - Kit: Selling digital products with Kit, overview and FAQs, 3.5% plus 30 cents per USD transaction, on every plan. Checked
- Kit: Kit migrations,
Migration is included with every paid Kit plan
; Essentials under 10K subscribers, Concierge from 10K. Checked - MailerLite: MailerLite pricing, plan table, the subscriber slider in USD, the FAQ on who counts and the Free plan lock above 250. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite Terms of Service, updated 22 September 2026; clauses 17.2 and 17.3 on AI agents, Inputs and Outputs. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite AI policy, OpenAI and Google named as AI partners; the AI landing page builder and image generator. Checked
- MailerLite: MailerLite, Substack alternative,
0% commission on your paid subscriptions
;Only Stripe fees apply
. Checked - MailerLite: How to migrate from Kit to MailerLite, last edited 12 August 2026; CSV import, then forms, templates and automations rebuilt by hand. Checked
- Trustpilot: Kit on Trustpilot, the 17 most recent reviews read, 18 August to 29 October 2026. Checked