Kit email marketing: what the free plan, the AI tools and your list size cost
Verdict on Kit
Kit suits creators under 10,000 subscribers who can send without automations, because Free covers broadcasts at no cost. Automations, sequences and AI Connectors start on Creator at $39 a month for 1,000 subscribers, prices checked . The bill climbs by tier: Creator reaches $379 a month at 50,000 subscribers.
Kit
- Best for
- Creators and newsletter writers under 10,000 subscribers who send broadcasts free, then pay by list size for automations and AI Connectors.
- Skip it if
- you need a bill that stays flat as your list grows. Kit moves you up a tier automatically, and stepping down is a manual request.
| Made by | Kit (formerly ConvertKit) |
|---|---|
| Category | Email marketing |
| Makes | Email broadcasts and automated sequences; landing pages and forms; paid newsletters, digital products and tip jars; AI-assisted subject lines in the broadcast editor (kit.com/ai) |
| Entry price | From $39 a month |
| Cost per output | Not computed: no plan states a quantity |
| Use in ads | Unverified: Terms last updated 5 September 2025 (read through a WebFetch summary because kit.com blocks curl): clause 9 says you keep your rights in your User Content, and clause 8.2 gives Kit a licence to develop, maintain and improve the Services and any other products, software, and services of Kit and/or its affiliates. The terms do not mention AI or say who owns AI-written text. Kit’s help centre says Kit itself does not train any AI model on Kit data (AI Connectors security FAQ, 2026-10-01). Terms |
| Free plan | Yes. Paid ads on the free plan: Unclear |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial on Creator and Pro, no card required (pricing page capture 2026-10-30; help centre article dated 2026-09-23). |
| Languages | Not stated on the pages read |
| API | Yes |
| Status | Active |
What Kit is
Kit is an email platform for people who sell what they make: newsletters, courses, digital products. It used to be called ConvertKit. You collect subscribers with forms and landing pages, then send them broadcasts (one-off emails) or sequences (a series that goes out on a schedule).
The free plan is the headline. It holds up to 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages (Kit help centre). Free leaves out visual automations, sequences, RSS campaigns and the AI Connectors.
The Kit Free plan
Price The Free plan costs $0 per month for as long as you stay under 10,000 subscribers.
Not on Free Visual automations and the automation template library, email sequences, rules and RSS campaigns, AI Connectors, and paid apps in the Kit App Store.
So a writer who sends one newsletter a week, with no automations, can stay on Free until the list passes 10,000. A course seller who needs a welcome series cannot.
The AI email marketing hub sets Kit beside the other 14 email tools we track.
What Kit costs at your list size
Kit bills by confirmed subscribers and ignores how many emails you send. The table gives the monthly price at four list sizes.
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | $379 Creator | Free: up to 10,000 contactsUnlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, tagging, segmentation, A/B testing of broadcasts, API access, digital products. No visual automations, sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI Connectors or paid apps. Wording is under 10,000in one sentence and up to 10,000in another (help centre, 2026-09-23). | kit.com/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
Free carries a list of 10,000 at no cost. Past that line, the help centre says you need a paid plan “to keep sending”. Creator then costs $139 a month at the 10,000 step.
Two billing rules matter more than the sticker price. Pass a tier’s limit and Kit moves you up automatically. Prune your list and the lower price waits: you request “Switch to a lower tier” and it starts on your next billing date (billing help article).
Kit’s billing and pricing pages do not say whether unsubscribed or bounced contacts count. Clean the list before you pass a tier edge. The Kit pricing page walks through every step, the yearly rate and the add-ons.
Which Kit plan has the AI features
Kit offers AI in three places, and plan rules apply to two of them.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | Subject lines AI email writing tools (subject line generator and tester) | Not stated | kit.com/ai says subject lines are generated and tested in the broadcast editor. No plan and no usage limit stated on that page; lowest plan not verified. | |
| Kit | Other AI Connectors (Kit MCP) | Creator | 65+ tools let Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other clients read the account and act on it; Free can connect but not run tools; rate limit 120 requests a minute per connection. | |
| Kit | Other AI apps in the Kit App Store | Free apps on any plan; paid apps need Creator or Pro | Third-party apps (kit.com/ai names involve.me, Lex, Wordsmith, Ada) vary; some free, some subscriptions. Each app has its own data practices. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
The first is AI Connectors, Kit’s MCP server. MCP is a standard that lets an AI assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT read your account and act on it. Kit lists 65+ tools for it (AI Connectors article, 1 October 2026).
That matters for your budget. On Free the assistant connects, but every tool call returns an upgrade prompt. Each connection is capped at 120 requests a minute.
The second is the subject line generator inside the broadcast editor. The Kit AI page describes it and names no plan or usage limit.
The third is the Kit App Store, where third-party writing apps such as Lex and Wordsmith plug in. Free apps work on any plan, and paid apps need Creator or Pro.
Here is the catch for a free user. The email costs nothing up to 10,000 subscribers, but AI Connectors cost the Creator price for your list size. At 10,000 subscribers that is $139 a month.
Does Kit train AI on your list
Kit says no. Its help centre states: “Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data.” The statement sits in the Security and data FAQ of the AI Connectors article, dated 1 October 2026.
AI Connectors, security and data FAQ
Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider’s own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | No | Kit’s help centre says Kit itself does not train any AI or LLM on Kit data, including email content and de-identified subscriber data. The statement is in the AI Connectors FAQ; the terms and privacy policy do not mention training, and a third-party AI client you connect applies its own settings. | Kit itself does not train any AI/LLM on Kit data. Please note, however, once a creator connects AI Connectors to a third-party AI client (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.), that provider's own data-handling settings govern whether prompts/data get used for model training.AI Connectors help article, Security and data FAQ (terms clause 8.2 licence to develop, maintain and improve the Servicesdoes not mention AI) | Dated 1 Oct 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Two limits sit around that answer. The terms (5 September 2025) do not mention AI. Clause 8.2 gives Kit a licence to use your content “to develop, maintain and improve the Services and any other products, software, and services of Kit and/or its affiliates”.
And once you connect ChatGPT, Claude or another client, that provider’s own data settings decide whether your prompts and data train its models. The AI-training guide sets Kit’s answer beside the other 14 tools.
The terms also say nothing on who owns text Kit’s AI writes. Clause 9 keeps your rights in your own content and does not say whether AI output counts as it.
Deliverability and the Pro plan
Deliverability is whether your email lands in the inbox or in spam. Kit puts its deliverability reporting on Pro, at $79 a month for 1,000 subscribers, alongside engagement scoring and the newsletter referral system (plan comparison).
Creator allows 2 team members and 2 subject line variants per test. Pro lifts both and adds content A/B tests.
Two public reviews raise problems here. One nonprofit saw poor inbox placement on Free. A reply in the same thread blamed missing SPF and DKIM records on its own domain (Reddit). A Trustpilot reviewer found custom tracking domains sit on the dearer plan (Trustpilot).
Kit splits its reviewers on support and price
Kit’s 19 public reviews from 8 May to 29 October 2026 (17 on Trustpilot, 2 Reddit threads) split sharply. Its Trustpilot page displayed 165 reviews and a TrustScore of 3.9 on 1 November 2026, with 22 per cent at one star.
Ease of use leads the praise (6 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). One reviewer calls it “very user-friendly, intuitive and easy to navigate”.
Support leads the complaints (5 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Price rises as the list grows come next (4 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
Two reviewers say Kit closed their account at short notice (Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Almost none of the 19 mention the AI features.
Kit pros and cons
Pros
- Free holds 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts (help centre)
- Easy to use, even with little technical skill (6 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Automations and sequences praised, with steady new features (4 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Kit states it trains no AI model on Kit data (AI Connectors FAQ, 1 October 2026)
- Creator Network recommendations brought one writer 50 subscribers a day in May 2026 (Reddit)
Cons
- Slow or unhelpful support once billing goes wrong (5 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Price rises as contacts grow (4 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Accounts closed at short notice (2 of 19 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- AI Connectors return upgrade prompts on Free (AI Connectors article)
- Deliverability reporting and engagement scoring are Pro features
- Terms silent on who owns AI-written text (clause 9)
How Kit compares
Kit vs MailerLite sets the two free-plan creator tools side by side at each list size. Beehiiv vs Kit covers the newsletter-first rival. Kit vs Mailchimp covers Mailchimp, which counts unsubscribed contacts in its bill.
Newsletter platforms ranks the tools built for writers. The email price table prices all 15 tools at your own list size.
Questions buyers ask about Kit
Is ConvertKit the same as Kit?
Yes. ConvertKit now trades as Kit, at kit.com.
Is Kit free?
Yes, up to 10,000 subscribers, with unlimited broadcasts. Automations, sequences and the AI Connectors need Creator or Pro.
Does Kit have AI?
Yes. AI Connectors let an assistant such as Claude run 65+ account tools from Creator up, and the broadcast editor generates subject lines. Kit’s AI page names no plan for the generator.
Does Kit use my subscribers to train AI?
Its help centre says Kit itself trains no AI or LLM on Kit data. A third-party assistant you connect follows its own settings.
What happens when I pass 10,000 subscribers on Free?
The help centre says you need to upgrade to a paid plan to keep sending. Kit pricing lists the Creator price at each step.
Every email tool, with its price at your list size, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- Kit: Kit pricing, the subscriber slider, monthly and yearly prices by tier, the first-year Pro offer. Checked
- Kit: The Kit Free plan, what Free includes up to 10,000 subscribers and what it leaves out. Checked
- Kit: Creator plan vs Creator Pro plan, team members, subject line tests, engagement scoring and deliverability reporting by plan. Checked
- Kit: Billing at Kit, billing by confirmed subscribers, the automatic move up a tier, the manual step down. Checked
- Kit: How to connect the Kit MCP to your AI tools, AI Connectors by plan, the rate limit and the Security and data FAQ on model training, dated 1 October 2026. Checked
- Kit: Kit AI, the subject line generator in the broadcast editor and the AI apps in the Kit App Store. Checked
- Kit: Kit Terms of Service, last updated 5 September 2025; clause 8.2 on the licence to Kit, clause 9 on your content. Checked
- Trustpilot: Kit on Trustpilot, TrustScore 3.9 from 165 reviews and 22 per cent one star as displayed on 1 November 2026; the 20 most recent reviews read, 17 of them counted, 18 August to 29 October 2026. Checked