lemlist: what it costs at your list size, its AI and its terms
Verdict on lemlist
lemlist suits small sales teams that run email, LinkedIn and calls in one sequence and can pay per seat. Multichannel costs $109 a month per user with unlimited emails and messages, prices checked . Finding leads costs extra: $20 buys 2,000 credits, enough for about 400 email addresses.
lemlist
- Best for
- Small sales teams running email, LinkedIn and call steps in one sequence, with contacts uncapped and the bill set by seats.
- Skip it if
- you email opted-in subscribers: lemlist is a cold outreach tool, and [Brevo](/tools/brevo/) mails people who signed up. Lead data is a separate credit add-on.
| Made by | LEMPIRE SAS (France), operator of lemlist |
|---|---|
| Category | Email marketing |
| Makes | Multichannel outreach sequences (email, LinkedIn, calls, SMS, WhatsApp); AI-personalised messages and LinkedIn voice notes; lead lists from a 650M+ database; enrichment through a waterfall of 25+ providers; AI-generated replies |
| Entry price | From $69 a month |
| Cost per output | Not computed: no plan states a quantity |
| Use in ads | General Terms dated 17 September 2025 (the Lead Finder article 14 was read on the same page on 1 November 2026). Article 7.6: You shall be, the sole and exclusive owner of all right, title, and interest in and to Your material or data, including all intellectual property rights therein; Article 12: You retain full ownership of Your Data. We do not claim any ownership to any of it, with permission to use it only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose). 7.5 adds that where non-personal Data is protected by an intellectual property right, you grant lemlist a free right to use it for the term and for an unlimited period after the end of the Agreement. The terms have no clause on AI-generated content ownership as such and none on training models. Article 14.2 says Lead Finder outputs are the customer’s to review and bars reselling them or building a competing database from them. Terms |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | The FAQ describes a 14-day free trial with the Multichannel plan’s features (except in-app calls) and 200 free credits. The page banner, shown on this fetch, instead offers an extended 30 day free trialattributed to a creator referral. |
| Languages | Interface in English, French, German and Spanish (pricing page); billing in dollars, euros or pounds |
| API | Yes |
| Status | Active |
What lemlist is
lemlist is a cold outreach tool. You load a list of people who have not signed up to hear from you. It sends them a sequence: a first email, then follow-ups, a LinkedIn message or a call reminder, each step timed and personalised.
That sets it apart from a newsletter platform such as Brevo or MailerLite, which mail people who opted in. On top of sending, lemlist sells access to a lead database it puts at 650M+ contacts, plus an email and phone finder. It also includes lemwarm, a warm-up service that builds a new mailbox’s sending reputation (pricing page).
There is no free plan. The FAQ offers a 14-day trial with Multichannel features and 200 free credits. The AI email marketing hub places lemlist beside the other 14 email tools we track.
What lemlist costs at your list size
lemlist puts no cap on contacts. Both paid plans list “Unlimited contacts”, so list size does not change the price of the 50,000-email tier the page prints. What you pay for is how much you send, or how many people on your team send.
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| lemlist | $69 Email | $69 Email | $69 Email | Not published Email | No free plan | lemlist.com/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
The Email plan costs $69 a month at 50,000 emails a month, the one volume tier the pricing page prices.
Put that volume in leads. A three-step sequence sends three emails to each new lead, so the plan covers about 16,700 new leads a month. At 50,000 contacts in one month you pass the published tier, which is why the 50,000 cell above reads empty.
Multichannel lifts that ceiling. It costs $109 a month per user and lists unlimited emails and messages, with five senders (connected sending mailboxes) per user. The lemlist pricing page works through team sizes, yearly billing and every add-on.
Which lemlist plan has the AI agents
lemlist’s AI runs as agents: tools that research a lead, enrich the record and draft the message for you. The Email plan card lists lemAgent and “Signal, Enrichment, & Messaging AI agents”, so the AI sits on the cheapest plan.
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| lemlist | Email writing AI Copilot and AI Sequence Builder | Not stated | Powered by Claude (Anthropic) per lemlist.com/ai-info; the plan is not readable because the comparison table’s ticks are not in the page text. | |
| lemlist | AI agent lemAgent | Listed on the Email plan card. | ||
| lemlist | Personalisation Smart Messaging (Messaging AI agents) | Listed on the Email plan card as Signal, Enrichment, & Messaging AI agents. Data runs on credits ($20 a month for 2,000). | ||
| lemlist | Reply handling AI reply intent detection, out-of-office detection and AI-generated replies | Not stated | Listed in the comparison table; per-plan ticks not readable. | |
| lemlist | Other AI Columns (OpenAI, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini) | Not stated | Runs models on lead attributes; plan not stated. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
The writing assistant has a named engine. lemlist’s AI page says AI Copilot is powered by Claude, made by Anthropic. AI Columns run OpenAI, Perplexity, Claude or Gemini models on each lead’s details, for example to write a first line from a company’s website.
The running cost is clear: the agents that look up data spend credits, and credits are sold apart from every plan.
Does lemlist train AI on your list
The terms do not say. No clause in the General Terms (dated 17 September 2025), the privacy policy or the AI page says lemlist trains models on your contacts. None says it does not.
Two clauses frame the question. Article 12 lets lemlist use your data “only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose)”.
Terms of Service, 12
Your acceptance of this ToS gives us the permission to do so and grants us any such rights necessary to provide the service to you, only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose).
Article 7.5 is wider: where your non-personal data is protected by an intellectual property right, you grant lemlist a right to use it “for an unlimited period after the end of the Agreement”.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| lemlist | The terms do not say | No clause in the terms (17 September 2025), privacy policy or AI page says lemlist trains models on customer content, or that it does not. Article 12 limits the permission over Your Data to providing the service; 7.5 grants a longer right over non-personal Data that is protected by an intellectual property right. The DPA is hosted as a PDF on docdro.id and was not read. | only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose).Terms article 12 (Your Data); article 7.5 | Dated 17 Sep 2025 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Your leads also reach outside AI providers when you use AI Copilot or AI Columns. The AI page names Anthropic, OpenAI, Perplexity and Gemini. The AI-training guide sets lemlist’s clauses beside the other 14 tools.
Contact counting and deliverability traps
The first trap is the seat. On Multichannel, “Pricing is based on the number of users” (FAQ), so each salesperson adds a full plan. The Email plan allows unlimited users and senders, which makes it the cheaper route for a team that only sends email.
The second is data. Uncapped contacts do not mean free contacts: finding an email address or phone number spends credits. The pricing FAQ says 2,000 credits cover 400 emails or 100 phone numbers. Unused credits roll over while you subscribe.
Deliverability is whether your email lands in the inbox or the spam folder. Every plan includes lemwarm warm-up and a deliverability hub, and the comparison table lists rotating IPs on all three plans. No dedicated IP add-on appears on the page.
One user reports the email test hanging on Outlook accounts (1 of 14 sources, Reddit).
lemlist reviews praise support; pricing draws the sharpest complaints
We read 14 public user sources dated 4 March to 30 October 2026: 10 Trustpilot reviews and four Reddit posts. On Trustpilot, 82% of 255 reviews give the top mark and 11% the lowest.
Support leads by a distance: 6 of the 14 sources, all on Trustpilot, praise it for speed or care (Trustpilot, Trustpilot). A Reddit team that sent over 100,000 emails says personalisation is where lemlist stands out (1 of 14 sources, Reddit).
Email finding stands out in one comparison. On 1,000 leads, lemlist’s waterfall (a chain of 25+ data providers asked in turn) found 94.1% of emails, ahead of Apollo and Hunter. It took 11 minutes against under 4 for Apollo (1 of 14 sources, Reddit).
The complaints are few but specific. One Trustpilot reviewer says the Multichannel plan included less than its advertising implied, costing more than $600 a year (1 of 14 sources, Trustpilot). The Reddit team that sent 100,000+ emails calls lemlist pricey at volume (1 of 14 sources, Reddit). Another Trustpilot reviewer calls cancelling hard (1 of 14 sources, Trustpilot).
lemlist pros and cons
Pros
- Unlimited contacts on both paid plans (pricing page)
- Email plan allows unlimited users and senders
- Fast, thorough support (6 of 14 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot)
- Personalisation and email plus LinkedIn sequences (1 of 14 sources, Reddit)
- Waterfall found 94.1% of emails on 1,000 leads (1 of 14 sources, Reddit)
- lemwarm warm-up included on every plan
Cons
- Lead data sold as credits, apart from every plan
- Multichannel billed per user, so teams pay per seat
- Only the 50,000-email tier’s price is published
- Terms silent on AI training; 7.5 keeps IP-protected non-personal data in use after the contract
- Multichannel contents advertised beyond what one buyer got (1 of 14 sources, Trustpilot)
- Pricey at volume, says a 100,000-email team (1 of 14 sources, Reddit)
- Hard to cancel, says one reviewer (1 of 14 sources, Trustpilot)
- Slow waterfall lookups and a stuck Outlook test (2 of 14 sources: Reddit, Reddit)
How lemlist compares with other cold email tools
The best AI cold email tools list sets lemlist against Instantly, Smartlead and Apollo on price model, warm-up and lead data. Instantly is the closest rival for email-only senders, and Instantly alternatives covers the wider field.
For mail to subscribers who opted in, start with the best AI email marketing tools instead.
Questions buyers ask about lemlist
Is lemlist worth it?
For a small team mixing email, LinkedIn and calls, yes: Multichannel covers all three with uncapped contacts at $109 a month per user. Budget for data credits on top.
Does lemlist have a free plan?
No. The FAQ offers a 14-day trial with Multichannel features and 200 free credits.
Does lemlist cap contacts?
No. Both paid plans list unlimited contacts. The Email plan prices monthly email volume, and Multichannel prices seats.
What AI does lemlist use?
Its AI page says AI Copilot runs on Claude by Anthropic, and AI Columns can use OpenAI, Perplexity, Claude or Gemini models.
Does lemlist train AI on my leads?
Its terms neither say it does nor rule it out. Article 12 limits use of your data to providing the service.
Every email tool, with its price at your list size, is in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- lemlist: lemlist pricing, plan cards, the comparison table, the add-ons and the FAQ on trials, users and credits. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist AI information page, which AI models power AI Copilot and AI Columns. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist General Terms, dated 17 September 2025; articles 7.5, 7.6, 12 and 14.2. Checked
- Trustpilot: lemlist on Trustpilot, 255 reviews; the 20 latest read, 19 September to 30 October 2026. Checked
- Reddit: Honest Lemlist Review: What We Learned After Sending 100k+ Cold Emails, r/coldemail post, 12 March 2026. Checked
- Reddit: Apollo vs Hunter vs Lemlist for email finding (tested on 1000 leads), r/coldemail post, 28 May 2026. Checked
- Reddit: LemList Email Test Stuck on Outlook Accounts, r/coldemail post, 29 April 2026. Checked