Instantly alternatives: cold email tools priced at the same sending volume
Verdict on Instantly alternatives
Smartlead costs less than Instantly at all four list sizes we price, with unlimited mailboxes on every plan. At 2,500 and 10,000 contacts, lemlist Email costs less again, $69 a month, up to 50,000 emails (checked ).
The catch with Smartlead is cancelling: 5 of 20 user reports say it only pauses the plan and billing resumes (Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
For storing 30,000 contacts or more for less: Smartlead
Pro stores 30,000 contacts and Unlimited Smart has no contact cap. Every plan includes unlimited email accounts.
For adding LinkedIn steps and calls to your email sequences: lemlist
Multichannel is billed per user with 5 senders each, and lemwarm warm-up comes with every plan.
For finding leads and sending from the same seat: Apollo.io
Every Apollo plan includes its contact database; Basic adds email warm-up and mailbox buying, paid from a credit pool.
| Tool | Monthly from (USD) | Free plan | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly The tool you are replacing | $47 | No | Cold email sender with unlimited mailboxes and warm-up, billed by uploaded contacts and monthly emails. |
| Apollo.io | $65 | Yes | B2B contact database with email sequences, billed per seat with a monthly credit pool for email and phone lookups. |
| lemlist | $69 | No | Multichannel outreach tool (email, LinkedIn, calls, SMS) billed per user, with unlimited contacts. |
| Smartlead | $39 | No | Cold email sender with unlimited mailboxes on every plan, priced by stored contacts and monthly sends. |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Prices checked 6 Nov 2026.
Why people look for an Instantly alternative
Instantly sells sending and lead data as two subscriptions. Outreach Growth covers sending at $47 a month, with unlimited email accounts and warm-up (Instantly pricing). Its AI Sequence Writer comes with Growth.
The lead database and the AI agents sit on a Credits plan. Credits Growth costs $47 a month for 1,500 credits, and the AI Sales Agent spends 5 credits per lead (pricing.md). Bought together as the Starter bundle, the two cost $94 a month.
Public reviews add two reasons. Cancellation, refund and double-charge disputes lead the complaints (5 of 17 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Others say the late-2026 interface redesign is harder to use (4 of 17: Trustpilot, Trustpilot).
What each tool costs at the same sending volume
Smartlead’s Base plan sends more and stores more than Instantly’s Growth plan, for less. Higher up, Instantly’s Hypergrowth allows more emails a month than Smartlead Pro.
| Plan | Price (USD a month) | Emails a month | Contacts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly Outreach: Growth | $47 | 5,000 | 1,000 uploaded |
| Smartlead Base | $39 | 6,000 | 2,000 stored |
| Instantly Outreach: Hypergrowth | $107 | 125,000 on the plan card, 100,000 in the feature table | 25,000 uploaded |
| Smartlead Pro | $94 | 90,000 | 30,000 stored |
| Smartlead Unlimited Smart | $174 | 150,000 | Unlimited |
| lemlist Email | $69 | 50,000 | Unlimited |
| Apollo Basic, per seat | $65 | No cap stated | 2,500 lookup credits |
Scroll sideways for all 4 columns
Instantly’s page does not say whether its contact cap counts a stored total or uploads per month. The price at four list sizes, from each pricing page:
| Tool | 500 contacts | 2,500 contacts | 10,000 contacts | 50,000 contacts | Free plan | Checked | Pricing page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | $47 Outreach: Growth | $107 Outreach: Hypergrowth | $107 Outreach: Hypergrowth | $358 Outreach: Light Speed | No free plan | instantly.ai/pricing | |
| Smartlead | $39 Base | $94 Pro | $94 Pro | $174 Unlimited Smart | No free plan | smartlead.ai/pricing | |
| lemlist | $69 Email | $69 Email | $69 Email | Not published Email | No free plan | lemlist.com/pricing | |
| Apollo.io | $65 Basic | $65 Basic | Not published Professional | Not published Organization | Free planFree: 75 credits a seat a month, 2 sequences, AI Assistant limited to 5 chats, Gmail only for sending, no time limit. | apollo.io/pricing |
Scroll sideways for all 8 columns
AI writing and agents sit on different plans in each tool. The lowest plan with each AI feature:
| Tool | AI feature | Lowest plan | Limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | Email writing AI Sequence Writer | Outreach: Growth | Listed in the Growth feature highlights in pricing.md; no credit limit stated. | |
| Instantly | Email writing AI Email Writer Agent | Credits: Growth | Draws on 1,500 monthly Instantly credits; access to 5 LLMs or your own API key. | |
| Instantly | AI agent AI Sales Agent | Bundle: Starter | 5 credits per lead generated. | |
| Instantly | Reply handling AI Reply Agent | Bundle: Scale | 5 credits per reply generated; the Scale bundle card lists it. | |
| Instantly | Other Deliverability AI Agent | Outreach: Hypergrowth | Listed in the Hypergrowth feature highlights. | |
| Instantly | Other AI Spam Words Checker | Outreach: Growth | Listed in the Growth feature highlights. | |
| Smartlead | Subject lines AI Subject Line Generator | free tool | Listed among the site’s free tools, outside the paid plans. | |
| Smartlead | AI agent SmartAgents (7 agents, including Campaign Agent, Mailbox Agent and Advisory Agent) | Not stated | Lowest plan and any credit limit not stated on the pricing page or pricing.md; llms.txt describes the agents without a plan. | |
| Smartlead | Personalisation AI-driven personalisation in follow-up automation | Not stated | Described in llms.txt; plan not stated. | |
| Smartlead | Reply handling Unified Master Inbox intent categories | Not stated | Auto-categorises replies by intent per llms.txt; plan not stated. | |
| Smartlead | Other SmartAssistant | Not stated | Personal AI assistant that builds lists, creates campaigns and drafts sequences; plan not stated on the pages read. | |
| lemlist | Email writing AI Copilot and AI Sequence Builder | Not stated | Powered by Claude (Anthropic) per lemlist.com/ai-info; the plan is not readable because the comparison table’s ticks are not in the page text. | |
| lemlist | AI agent lemAgent | Listed on the Email plan card. | ||
| lemlist | Personalisation Smart Messaging (Messaging AI agents) | Listed on the Email plan card as Signal, Enrichment, & Messaging AI agents. Data runs on credits ($20 a month for 2,000). | ||
| lemlist | Reply handling AI reply intent detection, out-of-office detection and AI-generated replies | Not stated | Listed in the comparison table; per-plan ticks not readable. | |
| lemlist | Other AI Columns (OpenAI, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini) | Not stated | Runs models on lead attributes; plan not stated. | |
| Apollo.io | Email writing AI Assistant (drafts suggested email content) | Basic | Free plan allows 5 chats; unlimited-chat wording not stated for paid plans. | |
| Apollo.io | Predictions AI Lead Scoring | Professional | Free and Basic have a limit of 2 lead scores; Professional lists unlimited lead scoring. | |
| Apollo.io | AI agent Agentic workflows and MCP server | Not stated | The privacy policy describes AI agents and an MCP server; the plan is not stated on the pricing data. | |
| Apollo.io | Other AI Research | Free | Listed on the Free plan card; AI-researched data uses credits. | |
| Apollo.io | Other Call recordings with AI insights | Free | 150 minutes on Free and Basic, 4,000 on Professional, 8,000 on Organization. |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Smartlead vs Instantly: more stored contacts per dollar, fewer sends on Pro
Smartlead prices by stored contacts, monthly sends and verified leads, and charges nothing per mailbox. Base stores 2,000 contacts for $39 a month on monthly billing (the capture below shows the cheaper yearly prices), against Instantly Growth’s 1,000 at $47 a month (Smartlead pricing.md).
Pro stores 30,000 contacts but sends 90,000 emails a month. If you send more than that, Instantly Hypergrowth allows 125,000 on its plan card and 100,000 in its feature table, for $13 more. Verified prospect emails cost $59 a month extra on Base and Pro, and come included from Unlimited Smart.
Smartlead describes seven SmartAgents and AI-personalised follow-ups, but its pricing pages name no plan for them. Warm-up runs through a shared pool of mailboxes, and each plan names the pool it uses. Reddit users report burned mailboxes and a warm-up score stuck at 100% (4 of 20 sources: r/coldemail, r/coldemail). In one r/coldemail thread, users who run both say deliverability is about equal on a clean setup (r/coldemail).
- Best for
- Agencies and senders with many mailboxes and clients: every plan has unlimited email accounts, and Pro adds API, webhooks and paid client workspaces.
- Skip it if
- you want live help when a campaign breaks: 4 of 20 user reports describe slow or AI-only support.
lemlist vs Instantly: one flat Email plan, or a price per user
lemlist mixes email with LinkedIn steps, SMS and calls. Its Email plan costs $69 a month on monthly billing (the capture shows yearly prices) for 50,000 emails a month, with no cap on users or contacts (lemlist pricing). That beats Hypergrowth’s $107 a month if you stay under 50,000 sends.
The Email plan includes access to a 650M+ lead database. Lookups run on data credits: $20 a month buys 2,000, about 400 email finds or 100 phone numbers. Every plan includes lemwarm warm-up. The Email plan includes lemAgent and the messaging AI agents, and lemlist says its AI Copilot runs on Claude (lemlist AI).
Support is the most praised theme in recent reviews (13 of 15 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Two reports say pricing or plan contents misled them; one says the Multichannel plan lacked what its advertisement implied (2 of 15: Trustpilot, r/coldemail).
- Best for
- Small teams that mix email with LinkedIn and calls in one sequence: the Multichannel plan has unlimited emails and messages, priced per user.
- Skip it if
- you send more than 50,000 emails a month: the Email price rises with volume, and the pricing page text prices only the 50,000 tier.
Apollo vs Instantly: the lead database inside the seat price
Apollo is a B2B contact database with sequences built in. Basic costs $65 a month per seat on monthly billing with 2,500 credits a month (the capture shows annual billing and yearly credits), and one credit buys one lead lookup. Email warm-up and mailbox buying start on Basic.
For one sender who also needs leads, Basic costs less than Instantly’s Starter bundle at $94 a month. Each extra teammate adds a full seat, while Instantly’s Outreach plans include unlimited email accounts. The plan cards state no monthly send cap. The AI Assistant that drafts emails starts on Basic, and AI lead scoring is unlimited from Professional.
Users credit the large, searchable database and the free tier (7 of 17 sources: Trustpilot, Trustpilot). Some find contact data out of date (3 of 17: Trustpilot, r/coldemail).
- Best for
- Teams that want leads and sending in one tool: the 240M contact database and sequences come with every plan; Free gives 75 credits a seat.
- Skip it if
- you want your prospect lists kept out of AI training: Apollo’s AI Policy says it may train internal models on Customer Data.
Leaving lemlist instead: what Instantly and Smartlead change
lemlist Multichannel bills $109 a month for each user. A three-person team pays $327 a month. For email-only sequences, the cheaper move is often inside lemlist: the Email plan costs $69 a month with unlimited users and senders, up to 50,000 emails. Leave for Instantly Hypergrowth or Smartlead Pro only if you send more than that. LinkedIn steps, SMS and calls stay on Multichannel.
Does each tool train AI on your prospect data?
Apollo says it may use Customer Data to train its internal models (AI Policy). Instantly’s terms 4.3 disclaim responsibility for third-party AI providers’ use of your inputs “in their model training”. Smartlead’s and lemlist’s terms neither say they train AI nor say they do not; Smartlead’s clause 12 lets it use your data to “develop other services”. Does your email tool train AI? reads each clause.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data | In plain words | The clause | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | The terms do not say | No clause says Instantly trains its own AI models on customer content. Clause 6.3(b) grants a perpetual, irrevocable licence over de-identified, aggregated data to improve and build service features, and clause 4.3 says Instantly is not responsible for third-party model providers’ handling of inputs and outputs including for use in their model training, so it gives no promise that they do not train. | Instantly is not responsible for the Third-Party Services' handling of your Inputs or Outputs, including for use in their model training.4.3 (Artificial Intelligence Tools); 6.3(b) (License to Subscriber Data) | Dated 23 Oct 2026 |
| Smartlead | The terms do not say | Nothing in the terms (19 May 2026), privacy policy (22 October 2026), DPA (18 September 2026) or Fair Use Policy mentions training AI models. Terms clause 12 licenses your data to supply and maintain the service, train staff and develop other services, and lets Smartlead keep aggregated, anonymised Analytics. For AI assistants connected through MCP the privacy policy says Smartlead does not store prompts or responses. | train our staff; and develop other services.Terms clause 12 (User Data); Privacy policy section 9 (Smartlead in AI assistants) | Dated 19 May 2026 |
| lemlist | The terms do not say | No clause in the terms (17 September 2025), privacy policy or AI page says lemlist trains models on customer content, or that it does not. Article 12 limits the permission over Your Data to providing the service; 7.5 grants a longer right over non-personal Data that is protected by an intellectual property right. The DPA is hosted as a PDF on docdro.id and was not read. | only for the purpose of providing the service (and for no other purpose).Terms article 12 (Your Data); article 7.5 | Dated 17 Sep 2025 |
| Apollo.io | Yes | Apollo says it may use Customer Data to train its own internal models (AI Policy, 10 August 2026; privacy policy 3.1, 10 August 2026), and the terms grant a perpetual licence to analyse Customer Data using AI after it is aggregated or de-identified. It says it will not share Customer Data with third parties to train their models and requires deletion from third-party AI platforms within 30 days. No opt-out for Customer Data was found. | Apollo may use Customer Data (as defined in Apollo’s Terms of Service) and its proprietary data as inputs to train these internal models to provide more accurate and relevant recommendations.AI Policy (internal models); Terms, Grant of License to Apollo (Perpetual License); Privacy Policy 3.1 | Dated 10 Aug 2026 |
Scroll sideways for all 5 columns
Left out, and why
Reply.io, Woodpecker and Saleshandy compete for the same senders and are not priced on this page. The AI cold email tools list ranks these four by job, and the AI email marketing hub covers newsletter and store tools.
When Instantly is still the better fit
Stay on Instantly if you send 90,000 to 100,000 emails a month: Hypergrowth allows at least 100,000, while Smartlead Pro stops at 90,000. Users also call its interface easier for solo senders and small agencies (2 of 17 sources: r/coldemail, r/coldemail). The Instantly profile and Instantly pricing cover every plan.
Questions buyers ask about Instantly alternatives
Is Smartlead cheaper than Instantly?
Yes at each list size we price. Base costs less than Growth and stores twice the contacts. Unlimited Smart costs less than half of Light Speed at 50,000 contacts.
Which Instantly alternative includes a lead database?
Apollo includes its database on every plan, with lookups paid from credits. lemlist’s Email plan includes database access, with data credits sold as an add-on. Smartlead sells verified prospect emails as an add-on on Base and Pro.
Does any Instantly alternative have a free plan?
Apollo does: 75 credits a seat a month and 2 sequences, sending from Gmail only. Smartlead and lemlist list no free plan.
More email tool comparisons sit together in the AI email marketing hub
Sources
- Instantly: Instantly pricing, Outreach, Credits and Bundle plans; yearly toggle. Checked
- Instantly: Instantly pricing (Markdown edition), plan feature lists, credit costs of the AI agents, uploaded-contact and email caps. Checked
- Instantly: Instantly Terms of Service (23 October 2026), 4.3, Artificial Intelligence Tools; 6.3(b). Checked
- Smartlead: Smartlead pricing (Markdown edition), stored contacts, sends, verified prospect emails and warm-up pool per plan. Checked
- Smartlead: Smartlead Terms and Conditions (19 May 2026), clause 12, User Data. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist pricing, Email and Multichannel plans, lemwarm, lead database, data credits. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist AI information, AI Copilot model provider. Checked
- lemlist: lemlist terms (17 September 2025), article 12, Your Data. Checked
- Apollo.io: Apollo.io pricing, seats, monthly credit pools, warm-up and mailbox buying from Basic. Checked
- Apollo.io: Apollo.io AI Policy (10 August 2026), internal models trained on Customer Data. Checked